clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patty Kazmaier Finalists Annouced

The 10 finalists for this year’s Patty Kazmaier Award, the top individual honor in women’s college hockey have been named.

Here are this year’s finalists:

Skylar Fontaine-F-Northeastern

Aerin Frankel-G-Northeastern

Elizabeth Giguere-F-Clarkson

Caitrin Lonergan-F-Clarkson

Emma Maltais-F-Ohio State

Alina Mueller-F-Northeastern

Sophie Shirley-F-Wisconsin

Daryl Watts-F-Wisconsin

Kiara Zanon-F-Penn State

Grace Zumwinkle-F-Minnesota

It’s a deep and impressive field of candidates to choose from this year, including two past winners in Elizabeth Giguere(2020) and Daryl Watts(2018).

Northeastern leads the way with three players nominated, with Alina Mueller the most likely to make the final three. Aerin Frankel is the only goalie to make the list and the presumptive favorite to win the inaugural award for women’s college hockey goalie of the year that will be given out this year.

This year seems wide open with so many candidates that could win the award, and very few games against each other to compare them to. It’s difficult to pick a heavy favorite for the award. The winner will be announced during this year’s Frozen Four, held in Erie, Pennsylvania