clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 NCAA Women’s Hockey Tournament Bracket Announced

NCAA HOCKEY: MAR 22 Div I Women’s Frozen Four - Cornell v Minnesota Photo by M. Anthony Nesmith/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

With the conference tournaments completed, the NCAA revealed bracket for this year’s Women’s Ice Hockey national championships.

Cornell edged out defending national champions Wisconsin for the number one overall seed. But as usual, it is a very competitive field and there is potential for upsets in the field of eight.

Here is what the bracket looks like. High seed hosts in the quarterfinal round, with this year’s Frozen Four being played in Boston.

#1 Cornell vs. #12 Mercyhurst(College Hockey American autobid)

#4 Minnesota vs. #6 Ohio State (WCHA autobid)

#3 Northeastern(Hockey East autobid) vs. #5 Princeton(ECAC autobid)

#2 Wisconsin vs. #7 Clarkson

The only switch made on the bracket for travel considerations was flipping Ohio State and Princeton, allowing Princeton to stay in the east and Ohio State in the west. That means a rematch of the WCHA conference semifinals in which Ohio State upset Minnesota in overtime. The two conference foes split their four-game regular season series as well. The only rematch from the regular season is Cornell and Mercyhurst, where the Big Red swept Mercyhurst.