clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 Top-10 Patty Kazmaier Award finalists named

Led by returning 2016 Patty Kazmaier Award hat trick finalist Ann-Renee Desbiens, Wisconsin, St. Lawrence and Minnesota each have two players.

Ann-Renee Desbiens (Nicole Haase) Nicole Haase/Bucky’s Fifth Quarter

Led by the only returning 2016 final three player, the top-10 finalists for the 20th annual Patty Kazmaier Award have been named.

The ten 2017 finalists are (in alphabetical order): Ann-Renne Desbiens (Wisconsin), Megan Keller (Boston College), Kelsey Koelzer (Princeton), Kennedy Marchment (St. Lawrence University), Cayley Mercer (Clarkson), Annie Pankowski (Wisconsin), Kelly Pannek (Minnesota), Sarah Potomak (Minnesota), Lara Stalder (Minnesota Duluth) and Brooke Webster (St. Lawrence).

Named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier-Sandt, the 2017 award for the top player in Division 1 women's ice hockey will be handed out March 18th during the Frozen Four in St. Louis, Missouri. Kendall Coyne won the 2016 honor.

Seven of the ten finalists are forwards. Two - Keller and Koelzer are defenders - and Desbiens, who was a top-three finalist in 2016, is the only goaltender nominated.

The ten finalists are spread out across the WCHA (five), ECAC (four), and Hockey East (one). Three teams - Minnesota, St. Lawrence and Wisconsin - have two players apiece. All except Potomak (sophomore) are juniors or seniors.

From this group the final three will be named on March 2nd.