clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WCHA Announces Postseason Awards

Defenseman of the Year Casey Nelson
Defenseman of the Year Casey Nelson
Matt Christians

The WCHA has announced their postseason awards winner for the 2015-2016 season.

Taking home top honors as player of the year was Michigan Tech's Alex Petan, who led the conference in scoring with 29 points in league play this year. Minnesota State's Casey Nelson was named defensive player of the year. Rookie of the year went to Ferris State's Corey Mackin. Michigan Tech goalie Jamie Phillips was named the league's outstanding student-athlete, and his coach, Mel Pearson, was named coach of the year for leading Michigan Tech to their first league title in 40 years.

The league also announced their three all-conference teams and all-rookie:

All-WCHA First Team:

F-Alex Petan, Michigan Tech

F-Teddy Blueger, Minnesota State

F-Tyler Morley, Alaska-Fairbanks

D-Casey Nelson, Minnesota State

D-Mark Friedman, Bowling Green

G-Chris Nell, Bowling Green

All-WCHA Second Team:

F-Gerald Mayhew, Ferris State

F-Dominik Shine, Northern Michigan

F-Darren Nowick, Northern Michigan

D-Matt Roy, Michigan Tech

D-Sean Walker, Bowling Green

G-Jamie Phillips, Michigan Tech

All-WCHA Third Team:

F-Mark Cooper, Bowling Green

F-Bryce Gervais, Minnesota State

F-Tyler Heinonen/Malcolm Gould, Michigan Tech(tie)

D-Brandon Anselmini, Ferris State

D-Shane Hanna, Michigan Tech

G-Gordon Defiel, Lake Superior State

All-Rookie Team:

F-Corey Mackin, Ferris State

F-Max Coatta, Minnesota State

F-Jake Lucchini, Michigan Tech

D-Daniel Brickley, Minnesota State

D-Wyatt Ege, Alaska-Anchorage

G-Atte Tolvanen, Northern Michigan