clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota State Head Coach Mike Hastings Wins Penrose Award

Matt Christians

Minnesota State head coach Mike Hastings has been named the recipient of the 2015 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I's top men's head hockey coach.

Hastings has been the architect of a remarkable turnaround in his three seasons in Mankato. After inheriting a team that finished 12-24-2 in 2011-12, Hastings has put together three seasons of 24 or more wins, and three consecutive trips to the NCAA Tournament. This season, Hastings' Mavericks finished 29-8-3, winning the school's first ever MacNaughton Cup as WCHA regular season champion, their second consecutive, and second ever, Broadmoor Trophy as WCHA playoff champion, and finished the regular season as the top overall team in the Pairwise Rankings and national poll.