clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCHC Announces All-Rookie Team

Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

The NCHC announced the league's all-rookie team today. It was a banner year for freshmen in the NCHC with newcomer Brock Boeser finishing as the league leader in goals and points in conference play.

Here is this year's team:

NCHC All-Rookie Team

Brock Boeser, F, North Dakota – 40 points (13 first-place votes)

Dylan Gambrell, F, Denver – 34 (11)

Jack Roslovic, F, Miami – 26 (6)

Jimmy Schuldt, D, St. Cloud State – 36 (11)

Will Borgen, D, St. Cloud State – 34 (11)
Evan Weninger, G, Omaha – 38  (12)

It's tough to argue with any of these picks. Roslovic finished as Miami's leading scorer, though only one point ahead of fellow freshman Josh Melnick. Gambrell also led his team in scoring as one of the members of Denver's 'Pacific Rim' line.

Schuldt and Borgen both played top-four minutes for St. Cloud State all season and were outstanding for the Huskies. Their skating, puck-moving abilities, and offensive flair were a big part of the reason St. Cloud State was as successful as they were this season.

Weninger faced little competition for the goalie award, with Colorado College goalie Jacob Nehama being the only other qualifying rookie goalie. Weninger was incredible in the first half of the season for the Mavericks, however, and the only reason UNO still has any hope of making it into the NCAA Tournament despite a disastrous second half of the year.