clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCHC Media Poll Ballot 2014-2015

Matt Christians

The NCHC will host their annual Media Day this Thursday at the Target Center in Minneapolis, home of their Frozen Faceoff. Among the festivities of Media Day, the NCHC preseason media poll will be announced.

For the sake of fostering discussion, transparency, and #content, here is the ballot that I submitted for this year's poll:

Predicted order of finish:

  1. Miami

  2. North Dakota

  3. Minnesota Duluth

  4. Denver

  5. St. Cloud State

  6. Western Michigan

  7. Nebraska-Omaha

  8. Colorado College

We'll have a deeper look at each team before the season. The top five were all pretty close for me, but ultimately, I decided to bet on Miami bouncing back from their rough year last season.

And here are the individual awards. The NCHC just asks for a first team all-conference, though I also did a second team, rookie team, player of the year and newcomer of the year.

First Team All-NCHC

F-Austin Czarnik, Miami

F-Riley Barber, Miami

F-Jonny Brodzinski, St. Cloud

D-Joey LaLeggia, Denver

D-Jordan Schmaltz, North Dakota

G-Zane McIntyre, North Dakota

Second Team

F-Trevor Moore, Denver

F-Blake Coleman, Miami

F-Jake Guentzel, Nebraska-Omaha

D-Andrew Prochno, St. Cloud

D-Jaccob Slavin, Colorado College

G-Ryan McKay, Miami

Rookie Team

F-Nick Schmaltz, North Dakota

F-Jake Randolph, Nebraska-Omaha

F-Aidan Muir, Western Michigan

D-Tucker Poolman, North Dakota

D-Louie Belpedio, Miami

G- Kasimir Kaskisuo, Minnesota-Duluth

Player of the Year: Zane McIntyre, North Dakota

Newcomer of the Year: Nick Schmaltz, North Dakota