clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Beanpot Preview and Line Combinations: Boston University vs. Harvard

2015 Beanpot Tournament - Consolation Game Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

BOSTON — Good evening and welcome inside TD Garden for the championship game of the 65th Beanpot Tournament between the No. 3 Harvard University Crimson and the No. 4 Boston University Terriers.

Puck drop is set for 7:30 p.m. The game will be televised live on New England Sports Network with Tom Caron, Andy Brickley and Nikki Reyes on the call.

Tonight’s title game is the first between BU and Harvard since 1998 when the Terriers were 2-1 winners in overtime. The 31-time champion Terriers are 4-1 in their last five Beanpot games and are playing in the title game for the third straight year, while Harvard is playing for its 11th title and first since 1993.

This marks the second meeting between the teams this season as BU earned a 5-3 win on Nov. 22 at Agganis Arena, but they enter tonight’s game on opposite notes.

The Crimson were 6-2 winners over Union on Friday night at Bright-Landry Hockey Center, a game in which sophomore Ryan Donato scored four goals. Alexander Kerfoot leads Harvard with 30 points and is one of four seniors among the team’s top six scorers.

Friday marked Harvard’s fifth straight win, while BU suffered a 3-2 defeat at UMass Lowell. Sophomore Bobo Carpenter and freshman Patrick Harper scored the Terriers’ goals in the setback, while Clayton Keller had a 15-game point streak snapped.

Here are tonight’s lines:

TERRIERS (19-8-2, 11-4-2 Hockey East)

Patrick Harper - Jakob Forsbacka Karlsson - Nick Roberto
Jordan Greenway - Clayton Keller - Bobo Carpenter
Kieffer Bellows - Ryan Cloonan - Patrick Curry
Chase Phelps - Gabriel Chabot - Tommy Kelley

Chad Krys - Charlie McAvoy
Brandon Hickey - Dante Fabbro
Doyle Somerby - John MacLeod

Jake Oettinger
Connor LaCouvee

CRIMSON (17-5-2, 12-4-2 ECAC)

Ryan Donato - Alexander Kerfoot - Lewis Zerter-Gossage
Luke Esposito - Sean Malone - Tyler Moy
Phil Zielonka - Jake Horton - Nathan Krusko
Devin Tringale - Ty Pelton-Byce - Michael Floodstrand

Wiley Sherman - John Marino
Jacob Olson - Adam Fox
Viktor Dombrovskiy - Clay Anderson
Adam Baughman

Merrick Madsen
Cameron Gornet
Sihak Lee