clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston University at UMass Lowell: Pregame Notes and Line Combinations

Pregame notes and line combinations from Tsongas Center at UMass Lowell where the No. 11 River Hawks will host No. 3 Boston University on this Friday night at 7:15 p.m. The Terriers, coming off a Tuesday night Beanpot win over Harvard in double overtime, are seeking a season sweep of UML.

Matt Dewkett

LOWELL, Mass. -- Welcome inside the Tsongas Center at UMass Lowell where the No. 11 River Hawks will seek to avenge a January overtime defeat to No. 3 Boston University on this Friday evening. Faceoff is set for 7:15 p.m.

North Chelmsford, Mass. native freshman Jack Eichel scored his third overtime winner of the season to lift the Terriers to a 4-3 win when the teams met at Agganis Arena on Jan. 18. He and defenseman John MacLeod of Dracut are making returns to the Merrimack Valley for the matchup.

BU is 8-1-3 since the start of December after downing Harvard in Tuesday night's Beanpot semifinal, 4-3. Junior Danny O'Regan scored the winning goal, his team-best 18th of the season, 2:18 into the second overtime period to lift BU to its fifth straight win.

UML broke a four-game losing streak with a 4-1 win over Merrimack last Saturday. Sophomore Joe Gambardella scored the game-winning goal and an assist in the game, while junior Kevin Boyle made 22 saves on 23 shots.

Here are tonight's lines:

TERRIERS (17-4-4, 11-2-2)

Evan Rodrigues - Jack Eichel - Danny O'Regan
Ahti Oksanen - Robbie Baillargeon - Cason Hohmann
Nikolas Olsson - Matt Lane - Nick Roberto
A.J. Greer - Mike Moran - Chase Phelps

Matt Grzelcyk - John MacLeod
Brandon Hickey - Brandon Fortunato
Doyle Somerby - Brien Diffley

Matt O'Connor
Connor LaCouvee
Anthony Moccia

RIVER HAWKS (16-8-3, 9-5-2)

A.J. White - Evan Campbell - Ryan McGrath
John Edwardh - Michael Fallon - Adam Chapie
C.J. Smith - Joe Gambardella - Gage Hough
Jake Kamrass - Michael Colantone - Michael Louria

Tyler Mueller - Michael Kapla
Dylan Zink - Zack Kamrass
Jake Suter - Chris Forney

Kevin Boyle
Jeff Smith
Olli Kalkaja