clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Beanpot: Championship Fun Facts and Stats

Boston University captured its 30th-ever Beanpot with a thrilling 4-3 overtime win over Northeastern on Monday night at TD Garden. Junior defenseman and captain Matt Grzelcyk was named Most Valuable Player as he scored two goals, including the overtime game-winner.

Matt Dewkett

BOSTON -- Everyone had to wait two extra weeks for it, but the conclusion of the 2015 Beanpot Tournament turned out to be well worth the wait as Boston University showed a flair for the dramatic once again in its 4-3 win over Northeastern.

A look back at Championship Monday with fun facts, stats and more:

BU junior defenseman Matt Grzelcyk scored his second goal of the game, fifth in four games and seventh of the season just 51 seconds into overtime to lift the Terriers to their 30th all-time Beanpot championship and their first since 2009.

Both of Monday's winning goals were scored by Boston Bruins prospects as Boston College sophomore Ryan Fitzgerald scored at the 1:16 mark of overtime for a 3-2 win over Harvard in the consolation game earlier Monday. The Bruins were represented on each of the tournament's four teams, also by Northeastern's Matt Benning and Harvard's Wiley Sherman.

Grzelcyk was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, becoming the 32nd Terrier ever to win the honor and the first since current Vancouver Canucks forward Nick Bonino in 2009. He is also BU's first MVP from within Boston city limits since Mike Prendergast in 1992.

BU's win clinched its first championship trophy of any kind since the 2010 IceBreaker in St. Louis and keeps the Beanpot on Commonwealth Avenue for a 22nd consecutive year.

Each of the Beanpot's four games were decided by one goal for the first time in history, while three went to overtime for the second time in history and first since 1987. This year's tournament also marked the first time BU went to overtime in both rounds.

The Beanpot final has now gone to overtime on 12 occasions and three times in the past five years. It was deja vu for the Huskies on Monday as BU's Chris Bourque beat them with an overtime winner back in 2005.

Freshman Jack Eichel assisted on Grzelcyk's game-winner, becoming the first Terrier to reach the 50-point mark since Colin Wilson and Bonino each did it during the 2008-09 national championship season and the first BU freshman since Tony Amonte in 1989-90.

Eichel remains the nation's leading set-up man with 34 assists in 30 games. He has now scored 30 of his 50 points this season in the third period or overtime.

Marshfield, Mass. native junior Mike Moran has four goals on the season, all of which have come in back-to-back efforts. His first two of the year came at Boston College Nov. 7 and against Connecticut before he lit the lamp Saturday night against Notre Dame and just 2:19 into Monday's game.

Northeastern has fallen in the Beanpot final in each of the last three seasons and four times in the last five years. The Huskies are 4-13 all-time in the tournament's championship game and haven't won since 1988.

NU junior defenseman Dustin Darou entered the Beanpot Tournament with just one goal in 63 career games, but scored the game-winning goal with 1:34 left in regulation to beat BC in the Feb. 3 semifinal before tying the game at 10:53 of the third on Monday.

Junior Kevin Roy's goal at the 9:18 mark of the third was the seventh of his Beanpot career. The primary assist was credited to senior goaltender Clay Witt for the first point of his collegiate career.

Sophomore John Stevens scored NU's first goal of the championship game for the second consecutive year, this time just 2:47 in. He scored with 1:24 remaining in the middle period for NU's only goal of last season's final as BC scored three times in the third for a 4-1 win.

Harvard senior and Minnesota Wild prospect Steve Michalek won the Eberly Award, given to the tournament's most outstanding goaltender, thanks in large part to his 63-save effort in a 4-3 double-overtime loss to BU in the first semifinal Feb. 3. He became just the second Crimson backstop ever to win the award joining Wade Lau in 1981, making 87 saves on 94 shots (.926).

With BC's win in the consolation game, Jerry York has still never finished last in the Beanpot in his 21 seasons as head coach. Although they won five straight Beanpot titles entering this season, the Eagles have finished third more times (23) than any other school. On the flip side, Harvard had clinched third place in each of the last four years before Monday's loss.