clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hockey East hands out major postseason awards

To the surprise of no one, Boston College junior Johnny Gaudreau won the Hockey East Player of the Year.

Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau
Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau
Matt Dewkett

CAMBRIDGE, MASS. -- Celebrating its 30th season, Hockey East handed out its major postseason awards on Thursday night at the league's annual banquet at the Royal Sonesta Hotel.

To the surprise of no one, Boston College junior Johnny Gaudreau won the Hockey East Player of the Year. Other finalists were Maine's Devin Shore, Vermont's Chris McCarthy and Northeastern's Clay Witt.

Boston College head coach Jerry York was named the Bob Kullen Hockey East Coach of the Year, named for the former New Hampshire bench boss. Northeastern's Jim Madigan and Maine's Red Gendron were other finalists.

Vermont forward Mario Puskarich won the Hockey East Rookie of the Year. The other finalists were Northeastern forward Mike Szmatula and Boston College goaltender Thatcher Demko.

Providence junior forward Ross Mauermann took home the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award while New Hampshire won the team sportsmanship award.

In somewhat of a surprise, Northeastern junior blue liner Josh Manson was named the Hockey East Best Defensive Forward.

Boston College senior forward Bill Arnold and Mauermann shared the award for Best Defensive Forward.

In statistical awards, Gaudreau won the scoring title and Demko won the goaltending award.

Hockey East First Team All-Star

Forward: Johnny Gaudreau, Jr., BC

Forward: Devin Shore, Soph., Maine

Forward: Kevin Hayes, Sr., BC

Defense: Ben Hutton, Soph., Maine

Defense: Michael Matheson, Soph., BC

Goalie: Connor Hellebuyck, Soph., UMass Lowell

Hockey East Second Team All-Star

Forward: Kevin Roy, Soph., Northeastern

Forward: Kevin Goumas, Sr., New Hampshire

Forward: Chris McCarthy, Sr., Vermont

Defense: Josh Manson, Jr., Northeastern

Defense: Eric Knodel, Sr., New Hampshire

Defense: Stephen Johns, Sr., Notre Dame

Goalie: Clay Witt, RS-Jr., Northeastern

Hockey East All-Rookie Team

Forward: Mario Puskarich, Vermont

Forward: Mike Szmatula, Northeastern

Forward: Robbie Baillargeon, Boston University

Forward: Vince Hinostroza, Notre Dame

Defense: Michael Kapla, UMass Lowell

Defense: Steve Santini, Boston College

Goalie: Thatcher Demko, Boston College