clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Mr. Hockey Finalists Named

Xcel Energy Center MSHSL Championship (Matt Christians) Matt Christians

The Minnesota Minute Men announced their ten finalists for this year’s Minnesota Mr. Hockey award, given annually to the top senior high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota.

Here are the finalists:

Ben Almquist, Holy Family Catholic(Wisconsin)

George Grannis, Marshall School, Duluth(Uncommitted)

Demetrios Koumantzis, Edina(Arizona State

Luke LaMaster, Duluth East(Wisconsin)

Luke Loheit, Minnetonka(Minnesota Duluth)

Lucas McGregor, Centennial(Uncommitted)

Carter Randklev, Moorhead(North Dakota)

Colin Schmidt, Wayzata(Minnesota)

Sammy Walker, Edina(Minnesota)

Garrett Worth, Duluth East(Uncommitted)

In addition, Rosemount goalie Ben Garrity and St. Thomas Academy goalie Atticus Kelly are the two finalists for the Frank Brimsek award as the state’s top senior goalie.

The winner will be announced at a banquet on Sunday March 11, the day after the state tournament championship. Edina’s Sammy Walker is the presumptive favorite to win the award, though it isn’t necessarily the given it has been in some past years, with Moorhead’s Carter Randklev also making a strong case throughout the season.