clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Mr. Hockey Finalists Announced

Hermantown's Wyatt Aamodt
Hermantown's Wyatt Aamodt
Matt Christians

The Minnesota Minute Men announced the ten finalists for this year's Minnesota Mr. Hockey award, given annually to the state's top senior high school player.

The finalists are as follows:

Wyatt Aamodt, Defenseman, Hermantown HS(Uncommitted)

Chase Ellingson, Forward, Breck School(Uncommitted)

Will Garin, Forward, Holy Family Catholic(Connecticut)

Cade Gleekel, Forward, Benilde-St. Margaret's(Uncommitted)

Michael Graham, Forward, Eden Prairie HS(Notre Dame)

Tyler Jette, Defenseman, Farmington HS(Uncommitted)

Mitchell Mattson, Forward, Grand Rapids HS(North Dakota)

Luke Notermann, Forward, Blaine(Minnesota)

Casey Staum, Defenseman, Hill-Murray School(Nebraska Omaha)

Riley Tufte, Forward, Blaine HS(Minnesota Duluth)

Blaine's Riley Tufte, a projected first round NHL Draft pick, is considered the heavy, heavy favorite for the award. There was some speculation that Eden Prairie junior forward Casey Mittelstadt might be eligible for the award by accelerating his schooling, but he had not reached a point in his acceleration to be eligible for nomination.

The Minute Men also announced the two finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award for the state's top senior goalie. St. Cloud Apollo's Nick Althaus, who set the state record for career shutouts earlier this winter, and Duluth Denfeld goalie River Alander are the two finalists.