clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Mr. Hockey: Elk River's Jake Jaremko named best senior in Minnesota

Jaremko had 79 points for the Elks this season. He will play his college hockey at Minnesota State.

Matt Christians

Elk River senior forward Jake Jaremko is the 2015 recipient of the  Minnesota Mr. Hockey Award.

Jaremko had 79 points (25G-54A) in 28 games for the Elks this season, which came one game short of making the State Tournament. Elk River, the top seed in Section 7AA, was upset by eventual Class AA runner-up Duluth East.

He is the second winner from Elk River following current Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman and 2000 Mr. Hockey Paul Martin.

As SB Nation College Hockey's Chris Dilks noted in the preseason, Jaremko's game has grown from his junior season.

No player has improved more from last year to this year than Jaremko. He was the best player in the fall Elite League, finishing 11 points better than the next highest scorer in the league. He's added an extra level of strength and explosiveness to go along with his excellent vision and playmaking instincts.

Jaremko will play college hockey at Minnesota State. Despite being passed over in the 2014 NHL Draft, he is listed as the 107th-rated North American skater by NHL Central Scouting in the Midterm Rankings.

In addition to Jaremko, the 2015 Frank Brimsek Award for the top senior goaltender was handed out Sunday. Burnsville goalie Dylan Lubbesmyer won the award over the other nominee, Breck goaltender Stephen Headrick.

Since 1985, the Minnesota Mr. Hockey Award is annually given to the state's top senior high school player. Past recipients include such NHLers as Paul Martin, Ryan McDonaugh, Nick Leddy, Nick Bjugstad and current college hockey players Kyle Rau (Minnesota), Justin Kloos (Minnesota), Grant Besse (Wisconsin) and 2014 winner Avery Peterson (Nebraska-Omaha).

The full 2015 Mr. Hockey finalists can be seen here.