clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Minnesota Mr. Hockey Finalists Announced

Matt Christians

Today the Minnesota Wild, in conjunction with the Minnesota Minutemen, announced the ten finalists for this year's Minnesota Mr. Hockey, given annually to the state's top senior high school hockey player.

This year was a little different in that I was given the opportunity to participate in the nomination process. The final ballot didn't exactly match mine--six of the seven names I voted for ended up on the list--but I can't argue with any of the selections made. For the record, my submitted ballot had a few names that weren't on my preseason list.

The finalists are:

Jack Ahcan, Defenseman, Burnsville(St. Cloud State)

Will Borgen, Defenseman, Moorhead(St. Cloud State)

Dixon Bowen, Forward, East Grand Forks(North Dakota)

Jacob Jaremko, Forward, Elk River(Minnesota State)

Dylan Malmquist, Forward, Edina(Notre Dame)

Jack Poehling, Forward, Lakeville North(St. Cloud State)

Nick Poehling, Forward, Lakeville North(St. Cloud State)

Jack Sadek, Defenseman, Lakeville North(Minnesota)

Peter Tufto, Forward, St. Thomas Academy(Uncommitted)

Christiano Versich, Forward, St. Thomas Academy(Colorado College)

Two finalists were also named for the Frank Brimsek Award, given to the state's top senior goaltender. They are Stephen Headrick of Breck and Dylan Lubbesmeyer of Burnsville.