clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Mr. Hockey Finalists Announced

The Minnesota Minute Men announced the ten finalists for Minnesota's top senior hockey player.

Grand Rapids' Avery Peterson, in action against Eden Prairie earlier this season.
Grand Rapids' Avery Peterson, in action against Eden Prairie earlier this season.
Matt Christians

The Minnesota Minute Men announced on Wednesday morning their ten finalists for this year's Mr. Hockey Award, given annually to the top senior high school hockey player in the state.

Here are this year's finalists:

Phil Beaulieu, Forward, Duluth East HS(Nebraska-Omaha)

Tyler Cline, Forward, Blaine HS(Uncommitted)

Spencer Naas, Forward, Benilde-St. Margaret's(Connecticut)

Tyler Nanne, Defense, Edina HS(Ohio State)

Avery Peterson, Forward, Grand Rapids HS(Nebraska-Omaha)

Mitch Slattery, Forward,  Hill-Murray(St. Cloud State)

Steve Spinner, Forward, Eden Prairie HS(Nebraska-Omaha)

Luc Snuggerud, Forward, Eden Prairie HS(Nebraska-Omaha)

Nick Wolff, Defense, Eagan HS(Uncommitted)

Zach Yon, Forward, Roseau HS(North Dakota)

Eight of this year's 10 finalists made our Preseason Watch List. I have no real qualms with the other two selected, as both are more than deserving. Avery Peterson likely remains the favorite to win the award, with Mitch Slattery and Luc Snuggerud the next two most likely, followed by Naas based on play this season.

The Minute Men also announced the two finalists for the Brimsek Award, which goes to the state's top senior. Grand Rapids' Hunter Shepard and Elk River's Mac Berglove were the two finalists. There's been some dubious decisions in regards to the Brimsek Award in the past, but they definitely got this one right this year. Shepard is the state's best goalie, with Berglove just a small step behind.