clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

St. Lawrence at Harvard: Pregame Notes and Line Combinations

Pregame notes and line combinations from Bright-Landry Hockey Center before No. 4 Harvard hosts St. Lawrence in a key ECAC clash of teams looking to build off big Friday night wins.

Joshua Kummins

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- Good Saturday evening and welcome inside Bright-Landry Hockey Center here on campus at Harvard University where the fourth-ranked Crimson are set to host St. Lawrence in a big ECAC battle. Faceoff is set for 7 p.m.

Tonight marks the 103rd all-time meeting between the Crimson and Saints in a series dating back to 1954. Harvard holds a 53-42-7 advantage, but SLU is 4-0-1 in the last five contests. The Crimson are winless in the series since coming out on top 4-1 on Feb. 24, 2012.

Both teams are coming off big Friday night wins to keep their hold on positions in the upper half of the conference.

For the Saints, it was a fourth straight victory at Dartmouth's Thompson Arena as they scored the first three goals of the game before holding off a late rally by the Big Green for a 3-2 triumph. Massachusetts natives senior Gunnar Hughes (Westwood) and junior Brian Ward (Haverhill) were the first to score for SLU, while freshman Kyle Hayton made 16 of his 36 saves in the third period.

Junior Jimmy Vesey scored two goals and two assists and classmate Kyle Criscuolo scored twice himself to help the Crimson ride past Clarkson, 6-3. Sophomore Tyler Moy has centered the top unit in Alexander Kerfoot's absence, chipping in with two assists on Friday.

Vesey, a Nashville Predators prospect, is now the nation's leader with 0.87 goals per-game while his 1.67 points per-game lead the ECAC. After Friday's effort, 13 of his 25 points are goals and he has scored a point in each of Harvard's 15 games.

Here are tonight's lines:

SAINTS (10-10-2, 6-4-0)

Gunnar Hughes - Patrick Doherty - Tommy Thompson
Drew Smolcynski - Brian Ward - Joe Sullivan
Mike Marnell - Ryan Lough - Christian Horn
Justin Bruckel - Alexander Dahl - Woody Hudson

Gavin Bayreuther - Mike Graham
Eric Sweetman - Nolan Gluchowski
Chris Martin - Matt Purmal

Kyle Hayton
Tyler Parks

CRIMSON (11-2-2, 7-1-2)

Jimmy Vesey - Tyler Moy - Kyle Criscuolo
Tommy O'Regan - Luke Esposito - Brian Hart
Seb Lloyd - Joseph Caffrey - Jake Horton
Devin Tringale - Eddie Ellis - Phil Zielonka

Max Everson - Brayden Jaw
Victor Newell - Desmond Bergin
Wiley Sherman - Clay Anderson

Steve Michalek
Merrick Madsen
Peter Traber