clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015-16 SB Nation College Hockey Media Big Ten Awards

Michigan freshman Kyle Connor cleaned up the conference awards after leading the nation with 35 goals in 36 games.

Dustin Satloff

Leading the nation with 35 goals in 36 games, Kyle Connor is the 2015-16 SB Nation Big Ten Media Player of the Year.

The Michigan freshman was chosen by a group of media members from all six schools and nationally. Connor, one of ten finalists for the 2016 Hobey Baker Award, also was unanimously voted the Big Ten Rookie of the Year. His Wolverines will represent the conference this weekend in the NCAA Tournament first round against Notre Dame.

Michigan head coach Red Berenson was named 2016 Big Ten Media Coach of the Year.

Connor, who has 69 points, was unanimously named  to the All-First Team while both Wisconsin's Luke Kunin and he were unanimously chosen for the All-Rookie Team.

Rounding out the all-first team are the other two members of Michigan's "CCM line" - JT Compher (leading the nation with 46 assists) and Tyler Motte - and Michigan sophomore defenseman Zach Werenski. Minnesota's Michael Brodzinski and Eric Schierhorn also were honored.

All six schools in the conference are represented on either the All-First Team, All-Second Team, or All-Rookie Team.

Individual awards:

MVP: Kyle Connor, Michigan

ROTY: Connor (unanimous)

COTY: Red Berenson, Michigan

All-First Team

F- Kyle Connor, Michigan (Fr)*

F- JT Compher, Michigan (Jr)

F- Tyler Motte, Michigan (Jr)

D- Zach Werenski, Michigan (So)

D- Michael Brodzinski, Minnesota (Jr)

G- Eric Schierhorn, Minnesota (Fr)

All-Second Team

F- Hudson Fasching, Minnesota (Jr)

F- Nick Schilkey, Ohio State (Jr)

F- Justin Kloos, Minnesota (Jr)

D- Luke Juha, Penn State (Dr)

D- Josh Healey, Ohio State (Jr)

G- Eamon McAdam, Penn State (Jr)


F- Kyle Connor, Michigan*

F- Luke Kunin, Wisconsin*

F- Andrew Sturtz, Penn State

D- Zach Osburn, Michigan State

D- Vince Pedrie, Penn State

G- Eric Schierhorn, Minnesota

*Unanimous to first team or all-rookie team

Previous Big Ten Media MVPs

2015: Zach Hyman, Michigan

2014: No individual selections

Methodology: Media members from all six schools picked players for an all-first and all-second Big Ten team, an all-rookie team and then 3 individual awards: A Big Ten MVP, Coach of the Year and Freshman of the Year. Votes were totaled up for the awards with 2 points given for the all-first team and 1 point for the all-second team and all awards. Tiebreakers were broken by most all-first team votes, followed by, if necessary, removing the vote of the person compiling votes.

Votes were for the whole season instead of just the 20 Big Ten games. Freshmen named to one of the two all-B1G teams were also eligible to be named to the all-rookie team.