clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014-15 SB Nation College Hockey Media Big Ten Postseason Awards

Zach Hyman, who scored 49 points in 34 games, is the Big Ten's Most Valuable Player based on the voting of media members.

Two of the 3 unanimous choices for the Big Ten All-First Team. One MVP.
Two of the 3 unanimous choices for the Big Ten All-First Team. One MVP.
Bill Rapai

This year's Big Ten Media MVP, Michigan's Zach Hyman, has been through the desert and back playing hockey.

After his sophomore season, the now 6'1", 195 lbs forward left his Toronto home to go play hockey in Israel.Hyman, participating for Team Canada in the Maccabiah Games, won gold there. He stayed up in the north of the country, playing in the one full-sized rink - which had good ice, according to Hyman -  in an exotic location.

"That was a lot of fun. We ended up winning against the US in the Finals. It was a great experience," he said about the experience. "We had a really good coach and it was great - Guy Carbonneau, he's an NHL legend, picking up tips from him - that was cool."

Two years later Hyman was singled out by Wolverines head coach Red Berenson before his senior season as someone Michigan needed to step up if Michigan was going to be successful in 2014-15. A scoring champion in junior hockey, Hyman's touch on the scoresheet had dried up over his first three seasons. To step up there - and to do so while mentoring young linemates Dylan Larkin and Alex Kile - required what Berenson said.

He has done that and more.

Hyman led all Big Ten players during the regular season with 49 points (19G-30A) in 34 games for the Wolverines. The point total bests his other three season combined.

For his efforts, he has been named the SB Nation College Hockey Big Ten Most Valuable Player for the 2014-15 season.

One of ten finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, Hyman was also named to the SB Nation College Hockey All-First Team - one of three players to be named unanimously (Michigan State goaltender Jake Hildebrand and Minnesota defenseman Mike Reilly were the others). Michigan was one of two teams along with Minnesota to have four players named to the all-Big Ten first and second team.

Penn State head coach Guy Gadowsky was named the Coach of the Year. With Gadowsky at the helm the Nittany Lions went from 8 wins to 18 in 2014-15. Penn State remained in the race for a conference title until the final weekend before finishing fourth.

Dylan Larkin, meanwhile, was named the Rookie of the Year. Larkin, a 2014 first round pick of the Detroit Red Wings and Hyman's linemate, led all freshmen and finished second on Michigan with 43 points (14G-29A).

The SB Nation College Hockey Big Ten Media Postseason Awards were voted on by 14 media members that cover the Big Ten. Media from all six Big Ten schools and national coverage participated. Votes were compiled by SB Nation College Hockey.

Individual Awards:

Big Ten Most Valuable Player: Zach Hyman, Michigan

Also receiving votes: Jake Hildebrand, Michigan State; Mike Reilly, Minnesota

Big Ten Coach of the Year: Guy Gadowsky, Penn State

Also receiving votes: Tom Anastos, Michigan State; Don Lucia, Minnesota

Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Dylan Larkin, Michigan

Also receiving votes: Zach Werenski, Michigan

2014-15 All-Big Ten First Team

F- Zach Hyman, Michigan**

F- Casey Bailey, Penn State

F- Kyle Rau, Minnesota

D- Mike Reilly, Minnesota**

D- Zach Werenski, Michigan

G- Jake Hiledbrand, Michigan State**

2014-15 All-Big Ten Second Team

F- Dylan Larkin, Michigan

F- Travis Boyd, Minnesota

F- Taylor Holstrom, Penn State

D- Travis Walsh, Michigan State

D- Michael Downing, Michigan

G- Adam Wilcox, Minnesota

**Unanimous Selection

2014-15 All-Big Ten Rookie Team

F- Dylan Larkin, Michigan

F- Scott Conway, Penn State

F- Matthew Weis, Ohio State

D- Zach Werenski, Michigan

D- Josh Jacobs, Michigan State

G- None Eligible

Also nominated: Leon Bristedt (Minnesota), Luke Stork (Ohio State), Erik Autio (Penn State), Jack Dougherty (Wisconsin), Cutler Martin (Michigan)

Methodology: Media members picked players for an all-first and all-second Big Ten team, an all-rookie team (minus a goaltender) and then 3 individual awards: A Big Ten MVP, Coach of the Year and Freshman of the Year. Votes were totaled up for the awards with 2 points given for the all-first team and 1 point for the all-second team and all awards.

Votes were for the whole season instead of just the 20 Big Ten games. Freshmen named to one of the two all-B1G teams were also eligible to be named to the all-rookie team.


Nathan Wells is a college hockey columnist for SB Nation mostly covering both the University of Minnesota and Big Ten. You can also follow him on Twitter --