clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin names Brad Navin & Chase Drake 2014-15 co-captains

A pair of Badger State natives are the first Badgers co-captains since 2008-09.

Hannah Foslien

Senior forward Brad Navin and fifth-year senior defenseman Chase Drake have been named Wisconsin's co-captains for 2014-15 season.

It is the first time the Badgers will have co-captains since 2008-09 when Ben Street and Blake Geoffrion both wore the "C." Senior forward Joseph LaBate, who scored the first goal in Big Ten history, will be the team's alternate captain.

"It was quite clear that the two guys who are our co-captains were the picks," Wisconsin head coach Mike Eaves said in a statement released by the University. "The voting was very close and Joseph was a strong third, so it became evident how the guys felt about their leadership."

All three players are wearing letters for the first time. Navin (Waupaca, WI) had a career-high 9 points(4G-5A) in 36 games last season. Drake (Mosinee, WI) had 8 points while skating in a career-high 37 games.

LaBate (Eagan, MN) is Wisconsin's top returning goal scorer with 11.

The Badgers, who finished second in the regular season, won the inaugural Big Ten conference tournament (and got some shiny rings) and made the NCAA Tournament, where Eaves' team fell to North Dakota in the first round. This year's club has several new faces to replace the 9 seniors, including last year's captain Frankie Simonelli. 2 underclassmen - Nic Kerdiles & Jake McCabe - also departed early  for the NHL.

Wisconsin opens its season October 10th and 11th at the Kendall Hockey Classic in Anchorage, Alaska.