clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Coaches Poll

The Gophers are the coaches' pick in the Big Ten this year

Matt Christians

A day after we released our Big Ten Media Poll, the Big Ten announced the results of their Coaches Poll, and the results were the same.

The coaches picked Minnesota to win the league, followed by Michigan, Wisconsin, Ohio State, Michigan State, and Penn State, in that order. The league doesn't release vote totals, though it's likely the Gophers were a unanimous pick, as they were in the media poll.

The Big Ten doesn't do preseason all-conference teams, instead announcing a group of 'Players to Watch'. Here were the players that the coaches highlighted:

JT Compher, F, Michigan

Andrew Copp, F, Michigan

Matt Berry, F, Michigan State

Jake Hildebrand, G, Michigan State

Kyle Rau, F, Minnesota

Mike Reilly, D, Minnesota

Brady Skjei, D, Minnesota

Sam Warning, F, Minnesota

Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota

Drew Brevig, D, Ohio State

Christian Frey, G, Ohio State

Tanner Fritz, F, Ohio State

Nick Schilkey, F, Ohio State

Luke Juha, D, Penn State

Joseph LaBate, F, Wisconsin

Joel Rumpel, G, Wisconsin

Michigan's Andrew Copp and JT Compher, Minnesota's Kyle Rau, Mike Reilly, and Adam Wilcox, and Wisconsin's Joel Rumpel were unanimous selections.