clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten announces conference awards

In its first year, the top two teams in the standings take away most of the individual and all-team awards, respectively.

Minnesota head coach Don Lucia was named Big Ten Coach of the Year by the conference Monday
Minnesota head coach Don Lucia was named Big Ten Coach of the Year by the conference Monday
Minnesota Athletics

The Big Ten announced Monday its awards for the regular season as voted by coaches and media.

Minnesota head coach Don Lucia earned Coach of the Year while his team, which won the inaugural Big Ten regular season title and went 25-5-6, picked up three more individual honors. Sophomore defenseman Mike Reilly (Columbus Blue Jackets draft pick), who led all B1G defensemen with 29 points (8G-21A) was named Defensive Player of the Year (which could have gone to either a defenseman or forward).

Sophomore goaltender Adam Wilcox (Tampa Bay Lightning) picked up both Goaltender of the Year and Big Ten Player of the Year after leading the conference in every goaltending category. Wilcox finished tied for second in the nation with a .934 save percentage. In 18 conference games, he only allowed 30 goals.

Michigan freshman forward JT Compher (Buffalo Sabres) was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Compher led the Wolverines in points (31) and assists (20) this season. He also ended up being the only unanimous choice this year with his freshman team selection.

Individual Awards:

As voted by Big Ten coaches and selected media members

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota
GOALTENDER OF THE YEAR:Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: JT Compher, F, Michigan
COACH OF THE YEAR: Don Lucia, Minnesota

The full all-B1G teams and sportsmanship awards are below, with NHL rights in parenthesis where applicable. Wisconsin leads the way with three players from its second place team on both the first and second all-Big Ten teams. Three different teams are represented on the first team while a fourth, Michigan, has two players on the second.


Ryan Dzingel, F, Ohio State (Ottawa Senators)

Michael Mersch, F, Wisconsin (Los Angeles Kings)

Mark Zengerle, F, Wisconsin

Mike Reilly, D, Minnesota (Columbus)

Jake McCabe, D, Wisconsin (Buffalo)

Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota (Tampa Bay)


JT Compher, F, Michigan (Sabres)

Kyle Rau, F, Minnesota (Panthers)

Nic Kerdiles, F, Wisconsin (Anaheim Ducks)

Mac Bennett, D, Michigan (Montreal Canadiens)

Frankie Simonelli, D, Wisconsin

Joel Rumpel, G, Wisconsin


JT Compher, F, Michigan***

Hudson Fasching, F, Minnesota (Buffalo)

Nick Schilkey, F, Ohio State

Michael Downing, D, Michigan (Panthes)

Drew Brevig, D, Ohio State

Christian Frey, G, Ohio State

***Unanimous Selection

Honorable Mentions (By Team in Alphabetical Order)

Andrew Copp, F, Michigan (Winnipeg Jets)

Alex Guptill, F, Michigan (Dallas Stars)

Jake Chelios, D, Michigan State

Jake Hildebrand, G, Michigan State

Greg Wolfe, F, Michigan State

Hudson Fasching, F, Minnesota

Sam Warning, F, Minnesota

Ben Marshall, D, Minnesota (Detroit Red Wings)

Brady Skjei, D, Minnesota (New York Rangers)

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Nominees (By Team in Alphabetical Order)

Luke Moffatt, Michigan (Colorado Avalanche)

Greg Wolfe, Michigan State

Nate Condon, Minnesota (Colorado)

Tanner Fritz, Ohio State

David Glen, Penn State

Frankie Simonelli, Wisconsin

This is the first year the Big Ten has sponsored men's ice hockey. Six schools - Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin - comprise the inaugural season. All six will be in St. Paul, Minnesota playing for the conference tournament title (and automatic NCAA Tournament berth) Thursday-Saturday.

SB Nation College Hockey will have its own, separate Big Ten awards out Tuesday.


Nathan Wells is a college hockey columnist for SB Nation. You can also follow him on Twitter --