clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Hockey: Minnesota vs. Michigan State Saturday line combinations

Gopher defenseman Ben Marshall returns for an injured Jake Parenteau while all three Reilly brothers play together for the first time at Minnesota.

Ben Marshall returns to Minnesota's lineup Saturday
Ben Marshall returns to Minnesota's lineup Saturday
Minnesota Athletics

Michigan State (5-7-1, 0-0-0-1 Big Ten) is content with using the same lineup Saturday, but Minnesota (11-2-2, 2-0-1-0 Big Ten) has been forced to make a couple changes Saturday.

The Spartans tied 2-2 Friday with goals by Mackenzie MacEachern (St. Louis Blues) and Villiam Haag, and won a shootout, the first one in Big Ten history, to take the extra point in conference play. MSU head coach Tom Anastos has elected not to make any changes. While Jake Hildebrand made 44 saves, Michigan State's defense made the most of the smaller ice sheet.

Minnesota, meanwhile, is bringing back Ben Marshall (Detroit Red Wings) after the junior defenseman was scratched Friday. He's in for Jake Parenteau, who was injured early last night. According to Mike Eidelbess, Gopher head coach Don Lucia said after the game that Parenteau was taken to a local hospital for X-Rays.

The other change Lucia made is Ryan Reilly, who has yet to play this season, in for A.J. Michaelson on the fourth line. With Ryan joining brothers Connor and Mike in the lineup, this is the first time all three have played in the same game at Minnesota. The three previously played together for the Penticton Vees (BCHL). Last year Connor, Ryan's twin, was injured and missed the entire season.

Both Adam Wilcox and Hildebrand are expected to start.

University of Minnesota Golden Gophers


Sam Warning (#11) - Kyle Rau (#7) - Hudson Fasching (#24)

Nate Condon (#16) - Justin Kloos (#25) - Taylor Cammarata (#13)

Connor Reilly (#21) - Travis Boyd (#22) - Seth Ambroz (#17)

Ryan Reilly (#9) - Gabe Guertler (#27) - Christian Isackson (#26)


Brady Skjei (#2) - Justin Holl (#12)

MIke Reilly (#5) - Jake Bischoff (#28)

Ben Marshall (#10) - Michael Brodzinski (#20)


Adam Wilcox (#32)

Michael Shibrowski (#1)

Ryan Coyne (#31)

Michigan State University Spartans


Ryan Keller (#12) - Lee Reimer (#22) - Greg Wolde (#86)

Mackenzie MacEachern (#15) - Thomas Ebbing (#28) - William Haag (#26)

Dean Chelios (#16) - Michael Ferrantino (#20) - Joe Cox (#21)

Matt DeBlouw (#19) - Justin Hoomaian (#24) - Brent Darnell (#25)


RJ Boyd (#5) - John Draeger (#7)

Jake Chelios (#42) - Brock Krygier (#17)

Nickolas Gatt (#14) - Rhett Holland (#11)


Jake Hildebrand (#30)

Will Yanakeff (#37)

Nate Phillips (#32)

Today's game begins at 4 p.m. ET (3 Central) and airs on both Fox Sports North (Minnesota) and Fox Sports Detroit. It's also available on if you are not in either area.


Nathan Wells is a college hockey columnist for SB Nation and College Hockey News. You can also follow him on Twitter --