clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gophers Hockey: Minnesota vs. Minnesota State Saturday line combinations

Michael Shibrowski gets the nod for the Gophers in net, ending a streak of 47 straight games for Adam Wilcox

Minnesota (7-1-1, 0-0-0 Big Ten) normally makes a couple changes in the second game of a two-game series. Players struggle or there are platoons to get as many in over the course of a weekend. It's normal.

Michael Shibrowski getting the nod in net against the Mavericks is not a normal one.

Shibrowski, a senior goaltender from Andover, MN, is starting in place of Adam Wilcox (Tampa Bay Lightning) for the Gophers against Minnesota State Saturday night. It ends a streak of 47 straight games started by Wilcox, who made 34 saves in Friday's 4-1 win. The sophomore sitting is not a punishment and more of a reward for Shibrowski's hard work in practice. He has only played in 5 games despite being in his third season with Minnesota.

Call it a belated birthday present if you want. Shibrowski's 23rd birthday was yesterday.

Other changes for Minnesota include Christian Isackson (Buffalo Sabres) centering the fourth line in place of Gabe Guertler and Justin Holl (Chicago Blackhawks) replacing Michael Brodzinski (San Jose Sharks) on defense. Guertler sits for the first time after being reinstated last week while Brodzinski normally plays Friday and sits Saturday.

Minnesota State sophomore Teddy Blueger (Pittsburgh Penguins) is in for the Mavericks after being hurt last night. While he left Friday's game for a couple minutes, Minnesota State head coach Mike Hastings did not expect Blueger to miss time after the game. He is right.

There are no changes for the Mavericks as the team is still missing a number of players to injury. Everyone else plays. Cole Huggins appears to be making his fourth straight start after making 26 saves against the Gophers. Hastings was happy with his performance so Stephon Williams (New York Islanders) sits again.

University of Minnesota Golden Gophers


Sam Warning (#11) - Kyle Rau (#7) - Hudson Fasching (#24)

Nate Condon (#16) - Justin Kloos (#25) - Taylor Cammarata(#13)

Vinni Lettieri (#19) - Travis Boyd (#22) - Connor Reilly (#21)

Tom Serratore (#14) - Christian Isackson (#26) - Seth Ambroz(#17)


Mike Reilly (#5) - Jake Parenteau (#6)

Brady Skjei (#2) - Justin Holl (#12)

Jake Bischoff (#28) - Ben Marshall (#10)


Adam Wilcox (#32)

Michael Shibrowski (#1)

Ryan Coyne (#31)

Minnesota State Mavericks


Dylan Margonari - Matt Leitner - Bryce Gervais

Chase Grant - Teddy Blueger(PIT) - Johnny McInnis

Brett Knowles - Jean-Paul LaFontaine - Max Gaede(SJS)

Taylor Herndon - Jordan Nelson - Mat Knoll


Brett Stern - Zach Palmquist

Jon Jutzi - Casey Nelson

Nick Buchanan - Sean Flanagan


Cole Huggins

Stephon Williams

Tonight's game starts at 7:00 p.m. CT and airs on Fox Sports North Plus. To find FSN+, click here.

Follow SB Nation's Nate Wells for live updates from Mariucci Arena on Twitter @gopherstate.