clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

A fan of hockey from mites to the NHL, Nathan learned heartbreak at the age of six when Norm Green took his Minnesota North Stars to Dallas. Since then the heartbreaking losses have continued between Vikings, Twins, Wild and Timberwolves but he fails to give up the hope of another Twin Cities pro championship. Presently Nathan covers the University of Minnesota hockey team for Western College Hockey and College Hockey News. In addition, he has attended Frozen Fours and is a NCAA Hockey correspondent for SB

2017 Frozen Four TV Ratings: Denver-UMD down from 2016 title; remain the top program on ESPN Saturday

467,000 viewers on average watched the Pioneers win its eighth national championship.

2017 Frozen Four: Denver’s Tariq Hammond gets his moment to celebrate

Returning on the same United Center ice he left on a stretcher, Hammond got to be there with his teammates, cast and all.

Red Berenson retires as Michigan head coach

Berenson finishes his career 848-426-92 in 33 seasons with the Wolverines. His teams won 2 national championships (1996, 1998) and had a streak making the NCAA Tournament 22 straight times.

2017 Frozen Four: How Denver bucked a trend to get back to the Frozen Four

The Pioneers become the third school since 2007 to make the Frozen Four in back-to-back seasons

Gophers Hockey: Ryan Collins signs with Columbus

The 6’6” defenseman is Minnesota’s first early departure of the offseason.

2017 NCAA Hockey Tournament TV Ratings: Big names help regional ratings rise

Five of the seven tournament games on ESPNU this year outdrew the highest-rated 2016 regional on the channel.

Michigan’s Red Berenson to decide future after Frozen Four

If this is it for the legendary Wolverine head coach, whose 33rd season ended with a 4-1 loss to Penn State on Thursday, Berenson fittingly will have opened and closed Joe Louis Arena.

2016-17 Big Ten Hockey Award Winners

Minnesota’s Tyler Sheehy was named Player of the Year while Wisconsin head coach Tony Granato earned Big Ten Coach of the Year in his first season coaching the Badgers.

Puck Dynasty Podcast: Gophers go for fourth straight Big Ten title (Episode 17)

This week the crew discuss last weekend’s Minnesota-Michigan series, preview the final weekend of Big Ten play, and turn their attention to the Minnesota State Boy’s HS Hockey Tournament and NCAA Tournament bubble among other topics.

2017 Top-10 Patty Kazmaier Award finalists named

Led by returning 2016 Patty Kazmaier Award hat trick finalist Ann-Renee Desbiens, Wisconsin, St. Lawrence and Minnesota each have two players.