clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Holy Cross at Bentley: Pregame Notes and Line Combinations

Pregame notes and line combinations from John A. Ryan Skating Arena before Bentley and Holy Cross complete their Atlantic Hockey weekend series on Saturday.

Jim Pierce

WATERTOWN, Mass. -- Good evening and welcome inside John A. Ryan Skating Arena where tonight the host Bentley Falcons finish their Atlantic Hockey weekend series against rival Holy Cross. Faceoff in the 61st all-time meeting between the programs is set for 7:05 p.m.

The two rivals, separated by just about 40 miles of Massachusetts Turnpike, opened their only set of the season with a 1-1 tie here in Watertown. The teams split four meetings this past February, and their two matchups this season marks the fewest since 2007-08.

After a scoreless first period last night, the Crusaders seized the lead as sophomore Scott Pooley scored his sixth goal of the season and fourth in as many games at 6:23 of the second. Bentley sophomore defenseman Chris Buchanan equalized with his first goal of the year with 14:58 left in regulation, allowing the night's points to be split.

Bentley's Max French was held off Friday's scoresheet after being named Atlantic Hockey Player of the Week this week. The sophomore scored three goals and three assists in three games last week en route to his third weekly honor of the season, and sits in a four-way tie for the league lead in goals.

Last night's tie lifted the Crusaders into a first-place tie with idle Robert Morris in the Atlantic Hockey standings with 17 points. The Falcons are right behind in a tie for third, but have 12 points in two fewer games.

Junior Mike Barrett leads the Crusaders with nine goals and sits in a tie for the lead with 14 points, including a league-best six goals on the man advantage. Senior Jake Bolton's 13 assists lead Atlantic Hockey while his 14 points lead the league's defensemen.

Here are tonight's lines:

CRUSADERS (9-6-1, 8-3-1)

Brett Mulcahy - Ryan Ferrill - Matt Vidal
Castan Sommer - Michael Laffin - Scott Pooley
Mike Barrett - T.J. Moore - Danny Lopez
Peter Crinella - Brett Lubanski - Tim Driscoll

Joe McNamara - Karl Beckman
Jake Bolton - Johnny Coughlin
Tommy Muratore - Spencer Trapp

Paul Berrafato
Jack Kenney
Tommy Nixon

FALCONS (7-7-2, 5-3-2)

Andrew Gladiuk - Max French - Kyle Schmidt
Jake Ahlgren - Drew Callin - Will Suter
Cody DePourcq - T.J. Dumonceaux - Danny Kucerovy
Tyler Deresky - Derek Bacon - Michael Reardon

Tanner Jago - Matt Blomquist
Billy Eiserman - Chris Buchanan
Alexey Solovyev - Charlie Donners

Gabe Antoni
Jayson Argue
Jake Bryniarski