clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

York, Blais, Potter, and Granato Inducted Into US Hockey Hall of Fame

Yale v Boston College Photo by Richard T Gagnon/Getty Images

The US Hockey Hall of Fame announced their 2020 class on Monday, with four college hockey legends getting the nod. Jerry York, Dean Blais, Jenny Potter, and Tony Granato make up this year’s class.

Jerry York, who has already been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2019, is college hockey’s all-time winningest coach. He has coached for 48 seasons, including the last 26 at Boston College. He has won five national titles in his career; one with Bowling Green and four at Boston College.

Dean Blais coached for 18 seasons, first at North Dakota, then after a brief hiatus to coach in the NHL, returned to college hockey to coach at Nebraska-Omaha. He won national titles with North Dakota in 1997 and 2001, and helped lead Omaha to the school’s first ever Frozen Four appearance in 2015.

Jenny Potter competed for the United States in four different Olympic games and is the second-highest scoring women’s player in Olympic history, first among US players. Potter split her college career between one season at Minnesota and three seasons at Minnesota Duluth. She was a four-time All-American and three-time finalist for the Patty Kazmaier award.

Tony Granato is the second member of the Granato family to be inducted into the US Hall, joining his sister Cammi, who became the first women’s player inducted in 2008. Granato’s experience both as a player and a coach is wide-ranging. After starring at the University of Wisconsin, he went on to an all-star NHL career before transitioning behind the bench where he worked 13 seasons as an NHL head or assistant coach. He returned to his alma mater to become Wisconsin’s head coach in 2016.