clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Union Joins Growing List of Teams to Cancel Season

Union Logo

Union College announced on Tuesday that they will not partcipate in the 2020-2021 season for both men’s and women’s hockey, due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Union becomes the 10th men’s program, and ninth women’s program to opt out of the season.

Union joins RIT and RPI as the third member of the Division III Liberty League, which cancelled all athletics last week, to also cancel the season for their Division I hockey programs. To date, Clarkson and St. Lawrence, who are also Liberty League members, have not announced cancellations.

With Union dropping out of the season, the ECAC is down to just four active teams at both the men’s and women’s level: Clarkson, Colgate, Quinnipiac, and St. Lawrence.