clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

10 Semifinalists Named for Mike Richter Award

2017 NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Championships - Semifinals Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

10 semifinalists have been named for the Mike Richter Award, given by Let’s Play Hockey magazine annually to college hockey’s top goalie.

The semifinalists are:

Matthew Galajda, Freshman, Cornell

David Hrenak, Freshman, St. Cloud State

Tanner Jaillet, Senior, Denver

Jake Kielly, Freshman, Clarkson

Connor LaCouvee, Senior, Minnesota State

Cale Morris, Sophomore, Notre Dame

Colton Point, Sophomore, Colgate

Cayden Primeau, Freshman, Northeastern

Sean Romeo, Junior, Ohio State

Hunter Shepard, Sophomore, Minnesota Duluth

Tanner Jaillet won the award last year, though isn’t necessarily the favorite this year with other goalies, notably Morris and Point, putting together outstanding statistical seasons. Other past winners of the award include Thatcher Demko, Zane McIntyre, and Connor Hellebuyck.

The field of ten semifinalists will be narrowed down to five finalists on March 22nd before a winner is announced at the Frozen Four.