clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 Hobey Baker Award Top Ten Finalists

cj franklin mankato (Matt Christians) (Matt Christians)

The ten finalists for this year’s Hobey Baker Award have been announced. Here are the candidates:

Henrik Borgstrom, Forward, Denver

Ryan Donato, Forward, Harvard

Matthew Galajda, Goalie, Cornell

Adam Gaudette, Forward, Northeastern

Dylan McLaughlin, Forward, Canisius

Cale Morris, Goalie, Notre Dame

Colton Point, Goalie, Colgate

Jimmy Schuldt, Defenseman, St. Cloud State

Dylan Sikura, Forward, Northeastern

C.J. Suess, Forward, Minnesota State

This year’s Hobey race has been fairly wide open. As the nation’s leading scorer, Northeastern’s Adam Gaudette is likely one of the favorites. His biggest competition may be Ryan Donato, who doesn’t have the raw numbers of Gaudette, largely due to his stint at the Olympics, where he was arguably Team USA’s best player(admittedly faint praise). Donato does rank 5th nationally in points-per-game.

Cale Morris and Colton Point both have outstanding numbers, but the Hobey has traditionally shied away from goaltenders in the current defense-heavy era that has consistently produced high stats for goalies.

Among the other finalists, besides Gaudette and Donato, Borgstrom, Schuldt, Sikura, and Suess all turned down professional contracts to return to college, which is frequently seen as a plus in the eyes of voters.