clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Frozen Four Field is Set

J. Meric/Getty Images

The last two bids to the 2016 Frozen Four were handed out on Sunday and the field is now officially set for what should be an amazing weekend of hockey in the Sunshine State.

This year, the Frozen Four will return to Amalie Arena in Tampa Bay, also site of the 2012 Frozen Four which was won by Boston College. The Eagles will be looking to repeat that feat this year, as they are one of the four teams in this year's field.

The semifinals will be held Thursday April 7th. The first game of the day will be played at 5pm EST and will feature the winner of the East Regional and top overall seed Quinnipiac facing off against the winner of the Northeast Regional Boston College.

The second semifinal is scheduled to start at 8:30pm EST and will be an all-NCHC battle as West Regional winner Denver faces off against Midwest Regional winner North Dakota for the sixth time this season, breaking a 2-2-1 deadlock.

Both semifinal games will be shown on ESPN2.

The winners of each semifinal will meet on Saturday April 9th at 8pm EST in a game that can be seen on ESPN to determine this year's national champion.