clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Finalists Named for Richter Award

Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

Let's Play Hockey magazine has announced their five finalists for the third annual Mike Richter Award, honoring college hockey's top goalies. Here are this year's finalists:

It was a deep field this year with 11 qualifying goalies posting a save percentage of .930 or better, making it difficult to narrow things down to just five goalies. The presumed favorites for the award are likely Boston College's Thatcher Demko, the national leader in save percentage and shutouts, and Yale's Alex Lyon, a potential NHL free agent target,  both of whom were also named finalists for the Hobey Baker Award earlier today.

The winner will be announced the Friday of the Frozen Four in Tampa.

North Dakota's Zane McIntyre was last year's recipient of the award, while UMass Lowell goalie Connor Hellebuyck was the inaugural winner of the award.