clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

20 Named to Mike Richter Award Watch List

2016 NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Championships - Semifinals Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

Let’s Play Hockey magazine and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced 20 goalies today to their watch list for this year’s Mike Richter Award.

The Mike Richter Award, now in its’ fourth year of existence, honors college hockey’s top goalie, based on on-ice performance, while also taking into consideration performance in the classroom and the community.

Here are the 20 goalies named to the watch list:

Name School Year Paul Berrafato # Holy Cross Junior Michael Bitzer Bemidji State Junior Gordon Defiel Lake Superior State Junior Parker Gahagen Army West Point Senior Mitch Gillam # Cornell Senior Kyle Hayton # St. Lawrence Junior Cole Huggins Minnesota State Senior Tanner Jaillet Denver Junior Cam Johnson * North Dakota Junior Merrick Madsen # Harvard Junior Chris Nell # Bowling Green Junior Cal Petersen # Notre Dame Junior Colton Phinney Princeton Senior Ryan Ruck # Northeastern Sophomore Eric Schierhorn # Minnesota Sophomore Alex Sakellaropoulos Union Senior Shane Starrett Air Force Sophomore Atte Tolvanen Northern Michigan Sophomore Drew Vogler Merrimack Sophomore Evan Weninger # Omaha Sophomore

Obviously still a preliminary list with lots of time for other goalies to work their way into consideration, but it’s a good starting point.

Previous winners of the Mike Richter Award are Thatcher Demko(2016), Zane McIntyre(2015), and Connor Hellebuyck(2014).