clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2015 NCAA Hockey Tournament: RIT's Controversial Go-Ahead Goal (VIDEO)

New, comments

Tigers junior Josh Mitchell scored the go-ahead goal with 5:51 remaining in regulation. Was it a good goal?

RIT became the first-ever #16 seed to defeat the #1 overall team since the NCAA Tournament expanded to 16 teams in 2003. The Atlantic Hockey playoff champion Tigers ended Minnesota State's season with a 2-1 win in the Midwest Region in South Bend. Despite the Mavericks out-shooting RIT by nearly a 2 to 1 margin, Tigers goalie Jordan Ruby made 33 saves and almost kept his team in the game on his own.

The ending, however, was controversial.

Josh Mitchell scored the go-ahead goal with 5:51 remaining in the game. Initially the referees called it a no-goal on the ice, saying that Matt Garbowsky interfered with Zach Palmquist and goaltender Stephon Williams. After a long review the referees overturned the call, determining that Palmquist was the one who interfered with Williams.

In that case it would be a good goal rather than goalie interference.

Here is the NCAA's official statement on the decision to overturn the call:

NCAA official statement on the use of video replay:

At the 5:51 mark of the third period, the on ice call determined by the referees was no goal as a result of contact by the

RIT forward into the Minnesota State defensive player. The referees felt this contact caused the Minnesota State goalie to be interfered with on the play.

Upon further video review, the referees determined that the Minnesota State player initiated the contact with the RIT

player and overturned the initial on ice call.

As you can guess, Minnesota State players and head coach did not agree after the game.

And as you can guess RIT was okay with the call.

RIT faces the winner of Nebraska-Omaha and Harvard tomorrow for a Frozen Four berth.

Was it a goal? Should it have been a no goal? Watch above.

S/T @cjzero