clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 World Junior Hockey: Breaking down the Team USA roster

Brandon Carlo
Brandon Carlo
Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

With USA Hockey announcing their final two cuts this morning, their roster for the 2016 World Junior Championships is now finalized. Team USA will begin their quest for gold in Finland on December 26th when they open up tournament play with a game against Canada at 1pm EST. That game, along with every United States game, can be seen on the NHL Network.

Here is the final United States roster. And here is a breakdown of the players that will represent Team USA:

Captain: Zach Werenski

Alternate Captains: Louie Belpedio, Auston Matthews, Colin White

By Position:

Forwards: Auston Matthews, Matthew Tkachuk, Alex DeBrincat, Sonny Milano, Christian Dvorak, Colin White, Ryan MacInnis, Nick Schmaltz, Brock Boeser, Ryan Hitchcock, Anders Bjork, Ryan Donato, Scott Eansor

Defensemen: Zach Werenski, Brandon Carlo, Louie Belpedio, Will Borgen, Chad Krys, Charlie MacAvoy, Brandon Fortunato,

Goalies: Alex Nedeljkovic, Brandon Halverson

By State:

New York(4): Sonny Milano, Ryan Hitchcock, Charlie MacAvoy, Brandon Fortunato

Michigan(3): Zach Werenski, Brandon Halverson, Alex DeBrincat

Missouri(2): Matthew Tkachuk, Ryan MacInnis

Colorado(2): Brandon Carlo, Scott Eansor

Illinois(2): Christian Dvorak, Louie Belpedio

Massachusetts(2): Colin White, Ryan Donato

Minnesota(2): Brock Boeser, Will Borgen,

Wisconsin(2): Nick Schmaltz, Anders Bjork

Arizona(1): Auston Matthews

Connecticut(1): Chad Krys

Ohio(1): Alex Nedeljkovic

By League:

OHL(6): Matthew Tkachuk, Alex DeBrincat, Christian Dvorak, Ryan MacInnis, Alex Nedeljkovic, Brandon Halverson

NCHC(4): Nick Schmaltz, Brock Boeser, Will Borgen, Louie Belpedio

ECAC(2): Ryan Donato, Ryan Hitchcock

Hockey East(3): Colin White, Charlie MacAvoy, Brandon Fortunato

WHL(2): Brandon Carlo, Scott Eansor

AHL(1): Sonny Milano

Big Ten(1): Zach Werenski,

USHL(1): Chad Krys

Switzerland(1): Auston Matthews

By School:

Boston University(2): Brandon Fortunato, Charlie McAvoy

North Dakota(2): Brock Boeser, Nick Schmaltz

NTDP(1): Chad Krys(BU)

Boston College(1): Colin White

Harvard(1): Ryan Donato

Miami(1): Louie Belpedio

Michigan(1): Zach Werenski

Notre Dame(1): Anders Bjork

St. Cloud State(1): Will Borgen

Yale(1): Ryan Hitchcock

By Birth Year:

1996(15): Anders Bjork, Ryan Hitchcock, Scott Eansor, Nick Schmaltz, Sonny Milano, Christian Dvorak, Ryan Donato, Ryan MacInnis, Louie Belpedio, Will Borgen, Brandon Carlo,  Brandon Fortunato, Brandon Halverson, Alex Nedeljkovic

1997(7): Alex DeBrincat, Auston Matthews, Colin White, Matthew Tkachuk, Brock Boeser, Zach Werenski, Charlie McAvoy,

1998(1): Chad Krys

By NHL Draft:

2014 NHL Draft selection(9): Anders Bjork, Ryan Donato, Christian Dvorak, Ryan MacInnis, Sonny Milano, Nick Schmaltz, Louie Belpedio, Brandon Halverson, Alex Nedeljkovic

2015 NHL Draft selection(5): Brock Boeser, Colin White, Will Borgen, Brandon Carlo, Zach Werenski

2016 NHL Draft first-time eligible(5): Auston Matthews, Matthew Tkachuk, Alex DeBrincat, Charlie McAvoy, Chad Krys

Undrafted(3): Scott Eansor, Ryan Hitchcock, Brandon Fortunato

By NHL Draft Round:

1st Round(5): Sonny Milano, Nick Schmaltz, Brock Boeser, Colin White, Zach Werenski

2nd Round(6): Christian Dvorak, Ryan MacInnis, Ryan Donato, Brandon Carlo, Brandon Halverson, Alex Nedeljkovic

3rd Round(1): Louie Belpedio

4th Round(1): Will Borgen

6th Round(1): Anders Bjork