clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 SB Nation All-Big Ten First, Second & Rookie Teams

Senior forward Kyle Rau, one of four Minnesota players on the first team, was named the preseason MVP based on votes throughout the Big Ten.

Minnesota senior captain Kyle Rau was named the 2014 SB Nation Big Ten preseason MVP
Minnesota senior captain Kyle Rau was named the 2014 SB Nation Big Ten preseason MVP
Matt Christians

Much like the preseason poll, the Gophers are golden in all-Big Ten representation.

Four Minnesota players were on the SB Nation Preseason All-Big Ten First Team, led by Preseason MVP Kyle Rau (Florida Panthers). With Rau, a senior forward who led Minnesota both on the ice (with 41 points) and off (as co-captain), on the first team is a Minnesota sweep at the defensive positions. Junior defensemen Mike Reilly (Columbus Blue Jackets) and Brady Skjei along with junior goaltender Adam Wilcox (Tampa Bay Lightning) all were named.

The teams were chosen by 16 writers, radio and television personalities from each of the six Big Ten schools. Each voter chose a first, second and rookie team along with a Most Valuable Player.

Two Michigan forwards, JT Compher (Buffalo Sabres) and Andrew Copp (Winnipeg Jets), join the Gopher quartet on the first team. Compher, a sophomore forward from Northbrook, Illinois, tied with Rau and Reilly for the most first team votes.

The All-Big Ten Second Team featured more diversity from a team perspective. Ohio State's captain, forward Tanner Fritz, and defensemen Drew Brevig both received enough votes as did Wisconsin senior goalie Joel Rumpel. The second team is completed with Minnesota forwards (and linemates) Hudson Fasching (Buffalo) and Sam Warning along with Wolverines sophomore defenseman Michael Downing (Florida Panthers).

2014 Detroit Red Wings first round pick Dylan Larkin is the only unanimous choice, having been named to the All-Rookie team. The Michigan forward is joined by Penn State teammates Scott Conway and Erik Autio (who tied with Minnesota's Leon Bristedt for the final spot. A Finn and a Swede sharing something? Sounds like a sitcom!). Spartans defenseman Josh Jacobs (New Jersey Devils) and Wisconsin D Jack Dougherty (Nashville Predators) make up the blue line while Michigan State freshmen goalie Ed Minney gets the nod for goalie..

The full list below:

All-Big Ten First Team (*indicates unanimous choice)

F- Kyle Rau, Minnesota

F- JT Compher, Michigan

F- Andrew Copp, Michigan

D- Mike Reilly, Minnesota

D- Brady Skjei, Minnesota

G- Adam Wilcox, Minnesota

All-Big Ten Second Team

F- Hudson Fasching, Minnesota

F- Tanner Fritz, Ohio State

F- Sam Warning, Minnesota

D- Drew Brevig, Ohio State

D- Michael Downing, Michigan

G- Joel Rumpel, Wisconsin

All-Big Ten Rookie Team

F- Dylan Larkin, Michigan*

F- Scott Conway, Penn State

F- Erik Autio, Penn State/Leon Bristedt, Minnesota

D- Josh Jacobs, Michigan State

D- Jack Dougherty, Wisconsin

G- Ed Minney, Michigan State

Big Ten Preseason MVP: Kyle Rau, Minnesota
Also receiving votes: JT Compher, Michigan; Adam Wilcox, Minnesota; Mike Reilly, Minnesota; Christian Frey, Ohio State; Hudson Fasching, Minnesota; Andrew Copp, Michigan