clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MSHSL: East Grand Forks Crowned Single A Champions

The East Grand Forks Green Wave crash over the Hermantown Hawks to win the first Single A State Championship in school history, 7-3.

East Grand Forks wins their first state title.
East Grand Forks wins their first state title.
Matt Christians

The East Grand Forks Green Wave defeated the Hermantown Hawks by a 7-3 rout on Saturday afternoon at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minnesota.

After falling to Breck in last's year third place game, East Grand Forks was able to rebound and put on a show in this year's 'A' Minnesota state championship game to bring the town their first title.

Scott Wasbotten scored at the end of the first period, allowing Hermantown to crack the scoreboard first and head into the locker room with a one goal lead.

The second period was a different story, however.  Dixon Bowen tied the game up, 1-1, just 2:36 into the second period, which began an absolute tear of high quality hockey from the Green Wave.  Eddie Eades, Jace Pesch, Grant Loven, and Reed Corbid would all add to East Grand Forks' total tally that period, allowing the Green Wave to head into the locker room with a 5-1 lead despite a scoreless first period.

Hermantown switched goalies for the last remaining period from Adam Smith, who had split time with replacer throughout the regular season and posted a 10-3-0 record, to Jace Thomas, who had a 9-1-2 regular season.

The Hawks would get two tallies from Parker Hawk and Jared Zeleznikar, but the Green Wave had a few more goals tucked away as well, matching the Hawks with two from Cale Mack and Tanner Tweten.

It was Hermantown's first opportunity to finally take the title after being runner-up to St. Thomas Academy for the last four years, but they were outmatched.

East Grand Forks allowed Hermantown six opportunities for a power play goal, including three in the first period, but were only able to convert on one in the final period of play.

Scoring Summary

1st Period - HERM (16:27) Scott Wasbotten from Nate Pionk

2nd Period - EGF (2:36) Dixon Bowen from Tanner Tweten and Grant Loven

2nd Period - EGF (3:43) Eddie Eades from Taylor Brierley

2nd Period - EGF (6:51) PP Jace Pesch from Grant Loven and Reed Corbid

2nd Period - EGF (14:26) Grant Loven from Dixon Bowen and Tye Ausmus

2nd Period - EGF (16:28) Reed Corbid from Grant Loven

3rd Period - HERM (2:31) Parker Hawk from Josh Lenard

3rd Period - EGF (9:20) Cale Mack from Dixon Bowen

3rd Period - EGF (12:03) PP Tanner Tweten from Reed Corbid and Brandon Loven

3rd Period - HERM (12:52) PP Jared Zeleznikar from Jack LeBlanc and Sam Gibson

Goaltending Summary

Josh Weber (EGF): 8-6-8 = 22 (3 GA) - W

Adam Smith (HERM): 5-10-0 = 15 (5 GA) - L

Jace Thomas (HERM): 0-0-7 = 7 (2 GA) - T