clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UMass Lowell captures second straight Hockey East Championship

UMass Lowell sophomore A.J. White had a goal and two assists in the championship game.

UMass Lowell captain Josh Holmstrom
UMass Lowell captain Josh Holmstrom
Matt Dewkett

BOSTON -- After going 28 years without a Hockey East Championship, UMass Lowell has won back-to-back Lamoriello Cups as tournament champions. The River Hawks defeated New Hampshire, 4-0, to win the 30th annual Hockey East Tournament Championship at the TD Garden on Saturday evening.

UMass Lowell sophomore goaltender Connor Hellebuyck was the winner of the 2014 William Flynn Hockey East MVP, stopping all 30 shots he faced in the championship game and 65 on the weekend.

The All-Tournament team consisted of Connor Hellebuyck (Goalie), Notre Dame's Stephen Johns and UMass Lowell's Christian Folin (Defense), and UNH's Kevin Goumas and UMass Lowell's Joseph Pendenza and A.J. White (Forwards).

Full recap to follow


Per. 1

12:12 UML 1-0 A.J. White (Joseph Pendenza, Christian Folin)

15:28 UML 2-0 Josh Holmstrom (Joseph Pendenza, A.J. White)

Per. 2

3:13 - UML 3-0 Joe Gambardella (Terrence Wallin)

18:43 - UML 4-0 Jake Suter (A.J. White, Joseph Pendenza)

Per. 3

3:22 - PC 1-3 Kevin Rooney (Drew Brown)


New Hampshire - Casey DeSmith 26-30 Jeff Wyer 4-4

UMass Lowell - Connor Hellebuyck 30-30

Power Plays

New Hampshire 0-2

UMass Lowell 1-4

Jeff Cox covers college, junior and high school hockey, NCAA recruiting and NHL Draft prospects. Follow him on twitter @JeffCoxSBNation.