clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN College Hockey's Atlantic Hockey Postseason Awards

Ryan Soderquist is SBN College Hockey's pick as Coach of the Year.

Bentley senior forward Brett Gensler
Bentley senior forward Brett Gensler
Sports Pix

Atlantic Hockey's eight remaining teams are gearing up for this weekend's quarterfinal series so now is a good time to break down the top performers in the league for the regular season.

Note: The following awards are the opinion of SBNation college hockey reporter Jeff Cox.

First Team

Forward: Brett Gensler, Sr., Bentley

Forward: Cody Wydo, Jr., Robert Morris

Forward: Andrew Gladiuk, Soph., Bentley

Defense: Steve Weinstein, Jr., Bentley

Defense: Adam McKenzie, Sr., Air Force

Goalie: Jimmy Sarjeant, Jr., Mercyhurst

Second Team

Forward: Alex Grieve, Jr., Bentley

Forward: Jon Puskar, Sr., American International

Forward: Cole Gunner, Jr., Air Force

Defense: Greg Noyes, Sr., RIT

Defense: Nick Jones, Sr., Mercyhurst

Goalie: Branden Komm, Sr., Bentley

Third Team

Forward: Matthew Zay, Jr., Mercyhurst

Forward: Kyle Gibbons, Sr., Canisius

Forward: Ryan Misiak, Jr., Mercyhurst

Defense: Kyle Huson, Soph., UConn

Defense: Ben Danford, Jr., Canisius

Goalie: Matt Ginn, Jr., Holy Cross

Rookie Team

Forward: David Norris, American International

Forward: Justin Danforth, Sacred Heart

Forward: C.J. Reuschlein, Army

Defense: Ryan Segalla, UConn

Defense: Mitch Nylen, Sacred Heart

Goalie: Chris Truehl, Air Force

Player of the Year: Brett Gensler, Sr., F, Bentley

Coach of the Year: Ryan Soderquist, Bentley

Rookie of the Year: Ryan Segalla, UConn

The Player of the Year going to Gensler is really a no-brainer. He's been a consistent performer since day one and he had a terrific senior season. He's previously won a Walter Brown Award as the top American born player playing college hockey in New England and is a finalist again this season.

This writer had Bentley picked third in the preseason so their second place finish is not that much of a surprise to him, but the coaches tabbed the Falcons to finish ninth. The talent he has stockpiled at his alma mater is impressive, especially up front. He has also elevated the stature of the program with big wins at Boston University and against Holy Cross at Fenway Park.

The league announced the official All-Rookie team last week, and the only spot this writer differs from the coaches is on one of the defenseman spots. Ryan Segalla didn't put up the points that Niagara's Vince Muto did, but he is steady in his own end and was a difference maker for Mike Cavanaugh's UConn Huskies. That isn't to take anything away from Muto, who had a great year. There were several good freshman goaltenders in the AHA this season, led by Truehl, but a case could be made for RIT's Mike Rotolo, Niagara's Jackson Teichroeb and Army's Parker Gahagen. All three had good rookie campaigns without the defensive zone help that AFA goaltenders are afforded.

Thoughts? Disagree? Leave a comment in the comments section.

Jeff Cox covers college, junior and high school hockey, NCAA recruiting and NHL Draft prospects. Follow him on twitter @JeffCoxSBNation.