clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vermont at Northeastern: Line Combinations

Line combinations from historic Matthews Arena in Boston as Vermont and Northeastern get set to open their respective 2014-15 seasons with a Hockey East contest.

Matt Dewkett

BOSTON -- Another night, another season opener.

Welcome to historic Matthews Arena on the campus of Northeastern University where the No. 16 Huskies are set to host the University of Vermont Catamounts in a 7 p.m. contest.

Each side had to wait an extra night to start their respective regular seasons after exhibition play last Sunday. This is the lone Hockey East league game of the day, although five other teams are in action.

Vermont posted a rousing 8-0 win over Royal Military College in its warm-up after winning 20 games for the first time since 2008 last season. Eight different Catamounts found the back of the net as they held a 64-7 shot advantage. Reigning Hockey East Rookie of the Year Mario Puskarich is UVM's top returning scorer after scoring a team-best 19 goals and 36 points a year ago.

The Cats will also be aided by the return of senior Kyle Reynolds who missed all of last season after suffering an injury during an exhibition game.

Despite goals from junior Kevin Roy and sophomore Zach Aston-Reese, Northeastern fell 3-2 to Acadia in its exhibition contest. The NU roster features 18 underclassmen (five freshmen and 13 sophomores), a number that is tied for second-most in the country behind only Lake Superior State and UMass Lowell.

Here are tonight's lines:


Brendan Bradley - Jonathan Turk - Mario Puskarich
Kyle Reynolds - Jake Fallon - Brady Shaw
Mike Stenerson - Colin Markison - Kevin Irwin
Jarrid Privitera - Rob Darrar - Anthony Petruzzelli

Alexx Privitera - Mike Paliotta
Rob Hamilton - Nick Luukko
Chris Muscoby - Yvan Pattyn

Brody Hoffman
Mike Santaguida
Pat Feeley


Kevin Roy - Dalen Hedges - Zach Aston-Reese
Mike McMurtry - Mike Szmatula - Dylan Sikura
Nolan Stevens - John Stevens - Adam Reid
Ryan Rosenthal - Tanner Pond - Torin Snydeman

Garret Cockerill - Matt Benning
Mike Gunn - Colton Saucerman
Dax Lauwers - Jarrett Fennell

Clay Witt
Derick Roy
Jake Theut