clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Frozen Four: Fun Facts

The 2013 Frozen Four begins Thursday, April 11th in Pittsburgh at the Consol Energy Center, home of the Pittsburgh Penguins.

A first time champion will be crowned at the 2013 NCAA Frozen Four.
A first time champion will be crowned at the 2013 NCAA Frozen Four.

Let's take a look at some key facts and other miscellaneous information on this year's NCAA Frozen Four.

Participating Teams: St. Cloud State, UMass-Lowell, Quinnipiac and Yale

Breakdown by Conference: ECAC: 2; Hockey East: 1; WCHA: 1

Hobey Baker Award finalists in the Frozen Four: Eric Hartzell (Quinnipiac), Drew LeBlanc (St. Cloud)

  • There are zero Football Bowl Subdivision schools in the Frozen Four for the first time since 1991.
  • A first-time winner will be crowned. None of the four participating schools have ever won the Frozen Four.
  • Yale is the only team of the four to have ever made the Frozen Four. The Bulldogs did so just once, in 1952.
  • There haven't been two ECAC teams in the Frozen Four since the ECAC/Hockey East break-up.
  • The last time two ECAC teams made the Frozen Four was in 1983 when Providence and Harvard made it.
  • St. Cloud senior forward Drew LeBlanc's 50 points (13 goals and 37 assists) are more than any other player in this year's Frozen Four. His 1.22 points per game ranks him 9th nationally.
  • UMass-Lowell freshman Connor Hellebuyck has the best goals against average and best save percentage of any goalie in the Frozen Four. He ranks first nationally in both categories.
  • Quinnipiac senior Eric Hartzell ranks in the top ten nationally in both goals against average and save percentage, but behind Hellebuyck.
  • Rand Pecknold is the only coach competing in the Frozen Four who is not an alum of the team he is currently coaching.
  • Pecknold has been coaching longer than any other bench boss in the Frozen Four. He is in his 18th season at Quinnipiac.
  • UMass-Lowell coach Norm Bazin has the fewest years behind the bench. He is in his second year at Lowell. He was previously a head coach at Division III Hamilton College.
  • All four coaches in the field have career coaching records above .500.
  • This is the first time the Frozen Four will ever be held in the state of Pennsylvania. The Frozen Four will return to the Keystone State in 2014 when the event is held at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia.

Jeff Cox covers college hockey for SBNation. Follow him on twitter @JeffCoxSBNation.