clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Northeast Regional Semifinals Live: UMass Lowell, UNH "host" WCHA at Verizon Wireless Arena

Live updates from the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester, N.H. for opening day at the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Northeast Regional. UMass Lowell faces Wisconsin at 4:30 p.m., followed by New Hampshire vs. Denver at 8 p.m.

Joshua Kummins

END OF FIRST: UMass Lowell 1, Wisconsin 0

Shots on Goal: 11-4 Badgers

First Period

16:11 - WISCONSIN PENALTY SHOT MISSED: Junior Jefferson Dahl threw a penalty shot attempt right into the bread basket of UML's Connor Hellebuyck to keep the score 0-0.

7:11 - UMASS LOWELL GOAL, 1-0: Junior Joseph Pendenza opens the scoring for the River Hawks, taking a pass from rookie A.J. White and finding the back of Joel Rumpel's net off a wicked wrist shot from the left circle.

We've finally sorted out our Internet issues here in Manchester!

The Open

Good afternoon from Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester, N.H. for the first semifinal of the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Northeast Regional. Top seeded UMass Lowell (26-10-3, 16-9-2 Hockey East) opens its second consecutive national tournament with a contest against the No. 4 Wisconsin Badgers (22-12-7, 13-8-7 WCHA).

The River Hawks are making their second regional appearance in as many years, thanks to a 1-0 victory over Boston University for the Hockey East title, while the Badgers clinched the WCHA with a 3-2 win over Colorado College.

The two teams are first and second in the nation in win-loss record since Christmas. Lowell leads the pack with a 20-3-1 record in that span, after an auspicious 4-7-1 start to the year.

Here are the starting line-ups for game one:


Nic Kerdiles - Marc Zengerle - Tyler Barnes
Joe LaBate - Brendan Woods - Michael Mersch
Ryan Little - Jefferson Dahl - Sean Little
Brad Navin - Keegan Meuer - Matt Paape

Jake McCabe - Frankie Simonelli
Kevin Schulze - John Ramage
Eddie Wittchow - Joe Faust

Joel Rumpel (16-8-4, 1.85, .933)
Landon Peterson


Ryan McGrath - Riley Wetmore - Derek Arnold
Scott Wilson - Michael Fallon - Terrence Wallin
Shayne Thompson - Stephen Buco - Adam Chapie
A.J. White - Joseph Pendenza - Josh Holmstrom

Zack Kamrass - Chad Ruhwedel
Joe Houk - Christian Folin
Greg Amlong - Jake Suter

Connor Hellebuyck (18-2-0, 1.39, .949)
Doug Carr
Brian Robbins

Joshua Kummins covers Hockey East for SB Nation. Follow him on Twitter @JoshuaKummins.