clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WCHA Announces League Awards

Drew Leblanc takes home Player of the Year honors

Minnesota's Nate Schmidt
Minnesota's Nate Schmidt
University of Minnesota Athletics

The WCHA announced their league awards today. The awards are voted on by two media members from each team, as well as the sports information director, head coach, assistant coaches, and team captain of each school.

Individually, St. Cloud's Drew Leblanc was named player of the year, while teammate Nick Jensen took home defensiveman of the year honors. Rookie of the year was Minnesota State's Stephon Williams, while his head coach, Mike Hastings, was named coach of the year.

Here are the All-WCHA teams:

First Team

F-Ryan Walters, Nebraska-Omaha

F-Drew Leblanc, St. Cloud

F-Danny Kristo, North Dakota

D-Nick Jensen, St. Cloud

D-Nate Schmidt, Minnesota

G-Stephon Williams, Minnesota State

Second Team

F-Corban Knight, North Dakota

F-Erik Haula, Minnesota

F-Rylan Schwartz, Colorado College

D-Joey LaLeggia, Denver

D-Mike Boivin, Colorado College

G-Juho Olkinuora, Denver

Third Team

F-Matt Leitner, Minnesota State

F-Nick Bjugstad, Minnesota

F-Eriah Hayes, Minnesota State

D-Andrej Sustr, Nebraska-Omaha

D-Jake McCabe, Wisconsin

G-Adam Wilcox, Minnesota


F-Rocco Grimaldi, North Dakota

F-Alex Petan, Michigan Tech

F-Tony Cameranesi, Minnesota-Duluth

D-Nolan Zajac, Denver

D-Andy Welinski, Minnesota

G-Stephon Williams, Minnesota State