clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gophers Hockey: Minnesota vs. Denver Friday night (3/1/13) line combinations

Seth Ambroz returns to the Minnesota lineup after missing last weekend's series against Minnesota-Duluth.

Sophomore forward Seth Ambroz returns to the Gopher lineup
Sophomore forward Seth Ambroz returns to the Gopher lineup
Minnesota Athletics

The Gophers are staying with the same top-9 that led them to 3 points last weekend against Minnesota-Duluth. Redshirt junior Zach Budish (Nashville Predators draft pick) is staying on the top line with Kyle Rau (Florida Panthers) and Nick Bjugstad (Panthers) while Nate Condon (Colorado Avalanche) is on the second.

Rau is playing Denver for the first time since knocking out Jason Zucker last year. Zucker is not here this time around, having signed a professional contract (he scored for the Minnesota Wild last night), while Rau received a one-game suspension for the hit.

However they are making one change. Sophomore forward Seth Ambroz (Columbus Blue Jackets) returns to Minnesota's lineup after missing both games against the Bulldogs with an undisclosed injury. He replaces Jake Parenteau, who is out for the first time since November 16th.

Denver's lineup features only 3 upperclassmen forwards and is led by Nick Shore (Los Angeles) and senior Chris Knowlton. Shore leads the Pioneers with 28 points - 2 ahead of Knowlton and 3 more than defenseman ( and reigning WCHA Rookie of the Year) Joey LaLeggia (Edmonton Oilers).

Adam Wilcox (Tampa Bay Lightning) is in net for Minnesota. Juho Olkinuora, who made this amazing save last Friday, is taking shots in warmups for the Pioneers.

University of Minnesota Golden Gophers


Kyle Rau (#7) - Nick Bjugstad (#27) - Zach Budish (#24)

Sam Warning (#11) - Erik Haula (#19) - Nate Condon (#16)

A.J. Michaelson (#15) - Christian Isackson (#26) -Justin Holl (#12)

Tom Serratore (#14) - Travis Boyd (#22) - Seth Amrboz (#17)


Seth Helgeson (#4) - Ben Marshall (#10)

Mike Reilly (#5) - Mark Alt (#20)

Brady Skjei (#2) - Nate Schmidt (#29)


Adam Wilcox (#32)

Michael Shibrowski (#1)

Ryan Coyne (#31)

University of Denver Pioneers


Gabe Levin (#9) - Nick Shore (#23) - Chris Knowlton (#11)

Zac Larraza (#16) - Shawn Ostrow (#26) - Ty Loney (#12)

Garrett Allen (#17) - Quentin Shore (#27) - Matt Tabrum (#25)

Larkin Jacobson (#14) - Daniel Doremus (#19) - Grant Arnold (#39)


Paul Phillips (#7) - Scott Mayfield (#2)

Nolan Zajac (#8) - David Makowski (#10)

Joey LaLeggia (#21) - Josiah Didier (#4)


Juho Olkinuora (#31)

Sam Brittain (#1)

Tonight's game begins at 7:00 p.m. CT and airs on BTN (rather than Fox Sports North).


For more University of Minnesota coverage, check out The Daily Gopher. You can also follow SB Nation College Hockey on Twitter @sbncollegepuck and like us on Facebook..

Follow Nate on Twitter for live updates from Mariucci Arena @gopherstate.