clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Senior CLASS Candidates Unveiled

Cheyne Rocha of Army was the 2013 winner of the Senior CLASS Award for men's ice hockey.

Canisius senior forward Kyle Gibbons
Canisius senior forward Kyle Gibbons
Tom Wolf Imaging

Players are often recognized for their outstanding contributions to their team's success on the ice. What sometimes goes unnoticed are the great deeds that these student-athletes perform in the classroom and in the community on a day-to-day basis.

The Senior CLASS Award is one way the NCAA hopes to honor a player from each sport for his or her dedication to being an all-around student-athlete and staying in school to complete a degree. A player must be a fourth-year senior to be up for consideration for the award.

CLASS is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School. The 2013 winner of the award for men's ice hockey was Cheyne Rocha of the US Military Academy. The Army alum was commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the Engineering Branch of the US Army after graduation last spring.

Here are the 20 candidates for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award for men's ice hockey.

Player School Position Hometown
Mac Bennett Michigan Defense Narragansett, RI
Jack Berger Princeton Forward St. Louis, Mo.
Sam Brittain Denver Goalie Calgary, Alberta
Greg Carey St. Lawrence Forward Hamilton, Ontario
Scott Czarnowczan Ferris State Defense Macomb, Mich.
Nic Dowd St. Cloud Forward Huntsville, Ala.
Kyle Gibbons Canisius Forward Westlake, Ohio
Kevin Goumas New Hampshire Forward Long Beach, NY
Jordan Heywood Merrimack Defense Regina, Saskatchewan
Brock Higgs RPI Forward Kingston, Ontario
Cole Ikkala Union Forward Romansville, Pa.
Andy Iles Cornell Goalie Ithaca, NY
Stephen Johns Notre Dame Defense Wampum, Pa.
Nick Jones Mercyhurst Defense Cranberry Township, Pa.
Dennis Robertson Brown Defense Fort St. John, British Columbia
Kevin Ryan Niagara Defense Eden, NY
Steven Shamanski Providence Defense Carberry, Manitoba
Dillon Simpson North Dakota Defense Edmonton, Alberta
Ryan Walters Nebraska-Omaha Forward Rosemount, Minn.
Matt Zarbo Clarkson Forward Grand Island, NY

Jeff Cox covers college and junior hockey, NCAA recruiting, NHL Draft prospects and the AHL for SBNation. Follow him on twitter @JeffCoxSBNation.