clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shillelagh Tournament: Northeastern Scores Three Unanswered to Defeat Host Notre Dame

After a rough spell where the Huskies went 1-5 Jim Madigan's team has turned the tables and now owns a four game unbeaten streak.

Clay Witt
Clay Witt
Northeastern Athletics

South Bend, Ind. -- Northeastern overcame a 2-0 deficit to defeat Notre Dame, 3-2, to capture the championship of the 2013 Shillelagh Tournament at the Compton Family Ice Arena on Saturday night. Torin Snydeman scored in the second period to cut the lead to one with 20 minutes to play. Braden Pimm and Dalen Hedges scored third period goals to complete the comeback. Star sophomore and Anaheim Ducks prospect Kevin Roy assisted on both third period tallies.

Defensemen Shayne Taker and Stephen Johns scored for Notre Dame as the Fighting Irish took a 2-0 lead in their own tournament, but couldn't hold on to the lead.

Northeastern senior goaltender Clay Witt made 31 saves for the victory. The Brandon, Fla. native stopped 62 of 65 shots over the two games.

Notre Dame senior forward T.J. Tynan was named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament while fellow Irish players Stephen Johns, Bryan Rust, Robbie Russo joined him on the All-Tournament team. Pimm and Witt were selected to the All-Tournament team as well from the Huskies.

Jeff Cox covers college and junior hockey, NCAA recruiting, NHL Draft prospects and the AHL for SBNation. Follow him on twitter @JeffCoxSBNation.