clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Mike Richter Award to Honor College Hockey's Top Goalie

College hockey's honor for top goalie will be named after Wisconsin alum Mike Richter.

Mike Richter at the 2012 NHL Winter Classic
Mike Richter at the 2012 NHL Winter Classic
Jim McIsaac

Let's Play Hockey magazine and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced the creation of a new post-season award on Thursday afternoon that will be handed out at the 2014 Frozen Four . The award, named after former Wisconsin goalie and New York Ranger legend Mike Richter, will honor college hockey's top goalie.

Voting for the award will be conducted by a panel of coaches, scouts, and members of the media. Criteria for the award is as follows:

- Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice

- Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university

- Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship

- Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season

- Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

It's basically the same voting and criteria as is used for the Hobey Baker award, given to the NCAA's top player. It makes a lot of sense to have a separate award for goalies, as goaltenders have traditionally struggled in Hobey Baker voting. Since the inception of the Hobey Baker in 1981, only Minnesota's Robb Stauber(1998) and Michigan State's Ryan Miller(2001) have won the award from the net.