clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mr. Hockey Finalists Announced

The 10 finalists for the Minnesota Mr. Hockey Award were announced today. Here is the list, with college commitments in parenthesis:

Tyler Barnes - Burnsville(Wisconsin)
J. T. Brown - Rosemount(Uncommitted)
Corey Fienhage - Eastview(North Dakota)
Jake Gardiner - Minnetonka(Wisconsin)
Joe Gleason - Edina(North Dakota)
Justin Jokinen - Cloquet(Uncommitted)
Zach Lehrke - Park Rapids(Uncommitted)
Aaron Ness - Roseau(Minnesota)
Drew Olson - Brainerd(Minnesota-Duluth)
Jake Youso - International Falls (Minnesota)

I'd be shocked if the award doesn't go to Aaron Ness. He's been hands-down the top high school player this season. Jake Gardiner certainly has worlds of potential, but if I had to choose, I would take Ness right now.

Looking at the ten finalists, there are 5 Out-State players and 5 Metro-area players, with all five Metro kids coming from southern suburbs. Also, all ten finalists play at public schools. Last year, Cretin-Derham Hall's Ryan McDonagh became the first player from a private school to win the award.