clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kessel Wins The Masterton

At the NHL's Awards Shows tonight, former Minnesota Golden Gopher Phil Kessel was named this year's winner of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. It is given annually to the player that best exemplifies perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey.

Kessel joins a long list of great names to win the prestigious award, named after former University of Denver forward Bill Masterton. A player may only win the award once in his career.

Kessel became the front-runner for this year's award when he returned to the ice after a cancer scare earlier this season. It's nice to see Kessel recognized for his accomplishments in what must have been a difficult and emotional season.