Awards highlight Friday at Frozen Four; LeBlanc headlines CCM All-American Teams

Justin K. Aller

"Friday Night at the Frozen Four" was all about the award winners. St. Cloud State's Drew LeBlanc won the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, but see who else took home some hardware in Pittsburgh.

St. Cloud State senior Drew LeBlanc took home the highest honor in college hockey on Friday night, winning the Hobey Baker Memorial Award at CONSOL Energy Center in Pittsburgh, but there were plenty of others who took home some hardware.

Players from 20 different Division I programs were represented on CCM Hockey's All American Teams. A whopping 22 that were American-born were named to the squads this year, including ten seniors and seven each from the ECAC and WCHA.

First Team East

G - Eric Hartzell, senior, Quinnipiac
D - Nick Bailen, senior, RPI
D - Chad Ruhwedel, junior, UMass Lowell
D - Trevor van Reimsdyk, sophomore, New Hampshire
F - Kyle Flanagan, senior, St. Lawrence
F - Johnny Gaudreau, sophomore, Boston College
F - Steven Whitney, senior, Boston College

Second Team East

G - Jon Gillies, freshman, Providence
D - Shayne Gostisbehere, sophomore, Union
D - George Hughes, senior, St. Lawrence
F - Greg Carey, junior, St. Lawrence
F - Mike Collins, junior, Merrimack
F - Andrew Miller, senior, Yale

First Team West

G - Brady Hjelle, senior, Ohio State
D - Nick Jensen, junior, St. Cloud State
D - Jacob Trouba, freshman, Michigan
F - Austin Czarnik, sophomore, Miami
F - Danny Kristo, senior, North Dakota
F - Drew LeBlanc, senior, St. Cloud State (2013 Hobey Baker Award winner)

Second Team West

G - Juho Olkinuora, sophomore, Denver
D - Dan DeKeyser, junior, Western Michigan
D - Nate Schmidt, junior, Minnesota
F - Corban Knight, senior, North Dakota
F - Anders Lee, junior, Notre Dame
F - Ryan Walters, junior, Nebraska-Omaha

In addition to being named the East's Second Team netminder, Gillies was named the Hockey Commissioners' Association's Division I National Rookie of the Year. Gillies, a South Portland, Maine native, went 17-12-6 on the year and posted a Friar program-record five shutouts, while his 2.08 goals against-average was second best in program history.

Friar senior captain Kyle Murphy was honored as the HCA's Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award Winner, joining fellow Providence city collegian Bobby Farnham, who earned the award in 2012. The award is named after the late Army player Derek Hines, a "consummate team player and team builder" who died in the line of duty on Sept. 1, 2005 in Afghanistan.

Finally, St. Anselm College (Manchester, N.H.) senior forward Tucker Mullin was awarded with the prestigious BNY Mellon Wealth Management Hockey Humanitarian Award, now in its 18th season. The Andover, Mass. native is only the third non-Division I winner of the award since the 1996 inaugural recipient, J.P. McKersie of the Boston University Terriers.

With the individual honors given out, there is just one more to be crowned on Saturday night in the Steel City as Yale and Quinnipiac take over center ice tonight, deciding which Connecticut program will be crowned the state's first-ever national champion.

Joshua Kummins covers Hockey East for SB Nation. Follow him on Twitter @JoshuaKummins.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation College Hockey

You must be a member of SB Nation College Hockey to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation College Hockey. You should read them.

Join SB Nation College Hockey

You must be a member of SB Nation College Hockey to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation College Hockey. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.